LibGuides: Sports Science: Search skills for systematic reviews: How are Systematic reviews different?

The distinguishing features of a systematic review is that it is protocol driven, i.e. it has:

a clearly defined question that needs answering,
an exhaustive search strategy,
clear inclusion and exclusion criteria,
explicit and transparent methods that are accountable, replicable and updateable,
and a clear logical rationale that is reported to the reader.

The search process for systematic reviews involves searching multiple bibliographic databases to ensure that you have been systematic and comprehensive in your approach, and utilising advanced search techniques to ensure all relevant studies are identified

Protocols are essential to ensuring a rigorous approach! The following resources can be used to help prepare a systematic review protocol:

If you would like to find existing systematic reviews search:

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews will help you identify systematic reviews and protocols. It's worth noting that you won't always able to access the full text of the studies. You'll need to try and track down the full-text of the study using a research database such as Medline.
TRIP Pro This link opens in a new window
To find systematic reviews in TRIP run your search and then refine by evidence type on the right hand side. The options include systematic reviews and UK guidelines.

Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions
This regularly updated handbook by the Cochrane Collaboration describes the steps involved in planning and undertaking a systematic review. Use this handbook to develop an understanding of how to define your search question and eligibility criteria, search for studies and document your findings.

Conducting Systematic Reviews in Sport, Exercise, and Physical Activity by David Tod
ISBN: 9783030122621
Publication Date: 2019-09-11