Skip to Main Content

Engineering Business Subject Guide: Online library support

Welcome to the Engineering Business Subject Guide

Use this guide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.

New to the University?  Explore the Getting Started with the Library guide to learn all about the Library basics. 

Your Engineering Librarian

Profile Photo
Nicola Nye

Your Business Librarian

Profile Photo
Jude Fleming

Online tutorial

Where to start your search

Library Search


Search across the print and online collections for books, chapters, articles, journals and lots more. 

For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Key databases

There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace journal articles, conference papers, reports, theses and much more, to support your study and research.  

These collections are specific to Engineering and contain video demonstrations, interactive data tools and more. 

When looking for company information it is important to identify what type of information you need. Generally the information available falls into three categories:

1) Company documents (e.g. annual reports)

2) Company data (e.g. pre-tax profit)

3) Company analysis (e.g. a SWOT analysis compiled by independent researchers)

The Library has databases that provide access to each type of company information. For more information, visit our Finding Company Information tutorial.

Company Documents

Company Data

Company Analysis

Finance Databases

  • WallStreetMojo
    Free Guides and Resources to help you learn Investment Banking, Financial Modeling, Equity Research, Private Equity & more.

Accounting and Tax Databases

These services provide market research, country, company and industry information.

With up-to-date industry profiles you can identify new developments and market drivers for a chosen a industry; find the main companies operating in the sector and their market share; discover trends, challenges and outside influences affecting the industry. Perfect for compiling SWOT or PESTEL analyses. 

Please note, most databases have their own built-in help and guidance, usually located in the top right hand corner.

Academic Research 

Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.

You can browse by subject (e.g. Finance) or type (e.g.Journals, News, Data etc.) or search to find your required resource.

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc. 

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

  • It is  easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.  
  • Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information. 

 

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations.  Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

Build your skills and get help from the friendly academic skills teams.

Study Skills Support @ Exeter

Study Zone offers drop-ins, workshops and online guides on a range of study skills topics, including academic writing, referencing, time management, exams and revision, and digital skills.

ASK @ Cornwall

Find out all about academic skills support at the Cornwall campus. Take advantage of the online support materials available through the Study Hub.

Linking the University of Exeter Library to Google Scholar 

Google Scholar is an online, freely accessible search engine for locating scholarly literature  from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. But not all full text content is free to access.

However, it is possible to link the University of Exeter online library to  Google Scholar, making it quick to identify and access library full text content.

Just follow these instructions:


 

Click on Check for this @ Exeter or Access this @ Exeter options to view full text article:

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. 

It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

Contact Us or Give Feedback