LibGuides: Alternatives to United States NLM Resources: Articles and preprints

Articles and preprints

Health and life sciences
Multidisciplinary

DiTA, Diagnostic Test Accuracy
"DiTA is the Diagnostic Test Accuracy database, a free database that indexes primary studies of diagnostic test accuracy and systematic reviews of diagnostic test accuracy studies related to physiotherapy practice."
Epistemonikos
A multilingual database of health evidence, particularly useful for identifying systematic reviews. Pulls from a range of sources including (but not limited to) PubMed.
Europe PMC
"Europe PMC provides comprehensive access to life sciences literature from trusted sources. It's available to anyone, anywhere for free. With Europe PMC you can search and read 45.6 million publications, preprints and other documents enriched with links to supporting data, reviews, protocols, and other relevant resources."
Global Index Medicus
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information. Searchable in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish.
LILACS
Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literature. Search in English, Spanish or Portuguese.
LIVIVO
Produced by the German National Library of Medicine (ZB MED); the central library for medicine, public health, nutrition, environmental and agricultural sciences in Germany. The current (as of 5 May) contents of PubMed have been made accessible from LIVIVO.
PEDro, Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro "is a free database of over 64,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions".
TRIP
"Tip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care". TRIP is freely available; however, there is also a paid Pro version, which the University of Exeter subscribes to.

Support and guidance for above databases

Webinar on effective searching within Europe PMC's Advanced search: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BAa2YyY16zM

BASE

"BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. The index contains more than 400 million records from more than 11,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed records for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library."
CORE

Based at the UK's Open University, CORE is a service which provides the world's largest collection of open access research papers.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals

Index of open-access journals from around the world, managed by team members from 45 different countries, speaking 36 languages.
The Lens

A free searchable patent and scholarly literature database covering science and technology.
OpenAlex

"We index over 250M scholarly works from 250k sources, with extra coverage of humanities, non-English languages, and the Global South."
OSF Preprints

An Open Science Framework initiative that supports the sharing of preprints from a range of disciplines.
Scielo (Scientific Electronic Library Online)

A multidisciplinary platform covering Latin America, the Iberian Peninsula, and South Africa. Strong coverage of articles in Spanish and Portuguese.

Support and guidance for above databases

Library guide from Universiteit Utrecht on searching OpenAlex.