This page highlights our best resources for finding company data and statistics. Complete the activities to familiarise yourself with the resources. You can watch the demo videos for guidance on using each resource.
FAME UK has information about more than 3.8 million companies in the UK and Ireland, with detailed information for many of them. Full reports are available for each company and you can search for financial details, stock prices, ownership, etc. In some cases, you can also see contact details for particular members of staff within the organisation. It also has historical information about 4 million inactive companies.
Orbis is an extensive database that provides in-depth financial data on international companies. All data in Orbis can be exported to Excel and you can use the tools within the database to create graphs from any data point.
This financial and capital markets database provides access to over 14 million global company filings:
Documents available include annual reports, bond prospectuses and news. It also covers M&A (Mergers and Acquisitions) and IPO (Initial Public Offerings).
If you need help searching the database see the Video Guides and User Guide (PDF).
Access to global statistics, data, graphs and infographics. Statista provides detailed information on over 100 industries and 120 countries, as well as global companies and market trends. All data is available to download and Statista allows you to edit how your data is presented.
If you need help searching the database see the Videos and tutorials.
All companies registered in the UK are required to register and deposit their accounts with Companies House. The basic information is free (address, directors, dates when accounts were filed, etc.), and their new Beta service allows you to see copies of many of the actual documents and accounts filed.
Annual reports can often be found on company websites or other services but they are also available free on Filings Expert; a database that can be accessed on the Electronic Library.
In addition to Fame and Orbis, you will often find company data within corporate websites, although it is unlikely that it will be neatly structured, with older and more detailed data possibly being more difficult to locate.
If you are looking for information about a non-commercial organisation like a government department, international organisation or a charity you may find it harder to get the same sort of information, although the news sources and general databases like Business Source Complete and ProQuest Business will still be good places to start.
Charities, non-governmental organisations and non-profit organisations make up what is often referred to as the fourth sector, an increasingly important part of the economy.
Charities in the UK are subject to the rules of the Charity Commission. All organisations are required to register and to submit annual reports. Financial and other information is available from the website.
You can also access some company data using the Marketline database. Marketline's global company profiles offer a mix of both data and analysis, with the 'Financial Overview' chapter providing a number of years worth of financial data, with a breakdown and style similar to that of Fame and Orbis. If you cannot find what you are looking for in Fame or Orbis, it is worth checking Marketline as a backup.
Contact Us or Give Feedback