Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INTO: Business Research Project - Finding & using library resources: 4. Using Research Databases

As well as sources of academic journals, the Library has access to many additional databases; offering access to information such as company profiles, financial data, market research reports, and more. 

The page below highlights some of these resources, as well as sharing additional guidance and support that is available to help you make the most of these databases. 

Depending on your topic, you may need to explore databases from other subject areas, or particular types of databases such as news sources or official publications.  Use the full A--Z database list to browse all databases.

Company Information Databases

Exeter's digital resources provide access to three main types of company information: company documentsdata and analysis

Sources of company documents provide access to key information generated or filed by the company. 

Examples could include annual reports, press releases, interim results, transaction announcements and SEC filings. 

Resources that offer access to company data often focus on providing detailed financial figures and statistics. Information may also include ratios, stock price data 

and shareholder information.

A number of resources also provide external analysis of companies; examining their performance, strategy and competitive positioning. 

To view short demonstrations of these resources, visit our selection of Database Support Videos.

To view short demonstrations of these resources, visit our selection of Database Support Videos.

To view short demonstrations of these resources, visit our selection of Database Support Videos.

Access and explore Marketline via the link below. As you familiarise yourself with the database, try to answer the following quiz questions.

Quiz: Marketline

The demo video below can provide additional guidance if you can't find what you're looking for.

For the full range of Marketline demo videos, visit the Business, Accounting & Finance LibGuide.

Other Information Sources

The university has access to many more resources offering alternative types of information. Use the tabs on the right for information on how to access our significant collections of news sources, official publications and case studies.

You can find even more resources by heading to the A-Z Databases list and filtering by Accountancy, Business, Economics, Finance, Management or Tourism Management

You may like to see how issues are portrayed in the press. Explore the news LibGuide for information on the range of news sources available via the Library.

Key resources include:

  • Financial Times subscription
  • The Economist
  • Nexis UK - A large full text database providing current newspaper coverage from local, national and international titles.
  • Newspaper archives -  Extensive archives for a range of UK and international newspapers.

Visit the Official Publications LibGuide for guidance and recommendation on accessing:

  • UK Parliamentary papers; including debates and legislation
  • Official European Union publications
  • Information from key international bodies; including the OECD, World Trade Organization and the World Bank

Case Studies can be found across a range of resources including in books, journals, professional magazines, databases, company websites and online.

View the Finding Case Studies page for additional information and recommended resources.

 

Market Research Databases

Exeter's digital resources provide two main types of market research information: industry research and information on the broader business and economic environment. 

Resources specialising in industry research will usually provide profiles with data and analysis on on individual sectors. Profiles will often focus on industries within the context of a specific country. 

Resources that include information on the wider business and economic environment will also present their information in the form of 'economic profiles', usually focusing on international regions, countries or cities. Most resources will provide a mix of statistics, analysis and demographic information.

To view short demonstrations of these resources, visit our selection of Database Support Videos.

To view short demonstrations of these resources, visit our selection of Database Support Videos.

Access and explore Mintel via the link below. As you familiarise yourself with the database, try to answer the following quiz questions.

Quiz: Mintel

The demo video below can provide additional guidance if you can't find what you're looking for.

For the full range of Mintel demo videos, visit the Business, Accounting & Finance LibGuide.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us