Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Grand Challenges - Student Mental Health: Home Page

Student Mental HealthThe focus of this challenge is on enhancing our whole University approach to student mental health.  Students will have the opportunity to shape ideas on areas for research and development in order to make the greatest impact on improved emotional wellbeing within the diverse student community.

This guide highlights a range of resources to explore various aspects of this challenge.

 

Library Search

Library Search

Use Library Search to find loneliness and mental health related book and journal content from a range of full text resources.

 

You can search for broad topics like student mental health and browse by date to see the latest publications  Or you can run more focused topic searches on things such as self help support.

Here are some sample searches - but try some some of your own.

student mental health

student wellbeing university

mental health literacy university

mental health self help

social prescribing students

Top Tip! Refine your search results to online results only whilst you are researching away from the Library

Databases

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Sociology Collection Database
Coronavirus Research Database

News Sources

Student mental health and wellbeing topics are heavily featured in news reporting.  You can explore some of the University's current newspaper services for up to date commentary on these issues

Recommended new source

The Times Higher Education Supplement includes commentary from staff and students and HE commentators on many aspects of mental heralth and wellbeing of students.

Google

Google Scholar Search

You can use Google Scholar to quickly search across a broad range of scholarly literature. Use this sample search and then run some searches on other topics relevant to your challenge.

Use the Making the most of Google Scholar LibGuide for advice on running effective searches.

Wellbeing Collection

Wellbeing and Leisure Collection LibGuide

Take a look at the Library's Wellbeing and Leisure Collection LibGuide.  This highlights a selection of books to help support health and wellbeing, as well as a number of fiction and non fiction titles for general relaxation, enjoyment and advice on everyday living.

A  Library Wellbeing Games Collection is also available

Contact Us or Give Feedback