Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News Sources: Current News Databases

Discover digital, print and microfilm news resources

Current news

You can gain a quick picture of key news stories from the 1st Headlines resource which provides searchable and browseable real time news headlines from the world's major news sites.

You can also use the freely accessible directory of  links to online news sources from around the world provided by ABYZ News Links.

For more systematic searching of current news, you should use the current news resources available to you at the University. These offer sophisticated search functionality to aid your research.

They key current news services are highlighted below, together with guidance material. These include aggreagator services such as Nexis and Factiva where you can access a wide range of news titles and sources, and individual current news sources such as the Economist and Financial times (FT)

The coverage for each news title on these databases will differ, but will typically you will not find content earlier than the 1990s. For that earlier content you need to use the archival news services or the newspaper microfilms.

All these resources, are available by choosing News type in the A-Z Database List.  You can browse through the listing to see the wide range of news resources that are available to you.  

Current News Databases

Nexis UK is a large online news database

It provides news and business information from a range of sources, including UK national and regional newspapers, international newspapers and newswires, and foreign language news sources in Dutch, French, German, Arabic, Spanish and Portuguese. Major international titles available include the French titles: L'Express, Le Figaro; in German: Frankfurter Rundschau, Der Spiegel, Die Welt, Die Zeit; in Italian: Corriere della Sera, La Stampa; in Spanish: El Pais. It also provides business information from professional and trade magazines, and company profiles and industry reports from a variety of sources.

The database is updated daily with new content.

 

Selecting publications to search

You can search across all Nexis content, and use filters to narrow your search results.  However, as Nexis holds a vast collection of news sources you may wish to limit your search at the outset to a particular tile of range of titles.

Searching for specific titles

Enter your chosen title into the search box on the front page of Nexis and select it as a source filter.  You can add multiple individual titles this way.

 

Nexis screenshot 

 

Once you have added all your required titles, just enter your search terms to run the search

 

Nexis screenshot

 

Searching for a range of titles

If you wish to include a broader range of titles you can use the options in the News menu. 

Nexis screenshot

For example, for UK news, select News, Europe, United Kingdom and then choose to Search all sources or  Select sources to search and use the check boxes to make a selection of sources.

Nexis screenshot

 

Power Search

You can also use the Power Search menu to choose a range of titles of collections to search. Select Power Search and then type titles or categories such as UK National Newspapers or Major World Newspapers into the Sources  box.

 

Nexis screenshot

Help Center

From all screens within Nexis you can access online support.  Click on the Question mark symbol in the bottom right of all screens to access the Help Center with videos and articles to guide you in your searching.

Question Mark Symbol - Help Center

 

Source coverage

For an idea of the date range and coverage of each title in the database, use the i symbol next to the resources.  This will pop up a Source Description box which outlines the available content which will vary between the different news resources

Nexis Source screenshot

 

Lexis Library is a legal database but it also provides quick and easy access to full text newspapers from the UK. 

For comprehensive news searching, you should use Nexis or Factiva as these enable you to download multiple articles from your search results list.

The news function on Lexis enables you to search and view multiple articles but they need to be downloaded whilst viewing the full text article,  i.e. one at a time.

Therefore the LexisLibrary news function may be best if you are trying to track down and download one particular newspaper article or if you just want to view various articles online and have no download requirements.

Factiva is a comprehensive international news database owned by Dow Jones which includes newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters and extensive company, industry and stock market information.

News Content

Factiva allows you to search more than 14,000 news sources and business publications. Articles go back to 1980 in some cases and cover publications in 23 languages, including those which use Arabic, Chinese simplified and traditional scripts, and Cyrillic script.

  • Major world newspapers include the Financial Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Straits Times, and South China Morning Post. Publications in languages other than English include Le Monde, Pravda, Tokyo Shibum, Il Sole 24 Ore, Die Welt and many more.
  • Other publications include Business Week, Fortune and The Economist, as well as a wide range of trade and professional journals in English and other languages, plus a wide variety of newswires from around the world.
  • Although the full text of all articles is included, it is not in facsimile; photographs and adverts are not included for copyright reasons.
  • Television and radio transcripts from key media outlets such as BBC, ABC and Fox are also included.
Help Using Factiva

Use the online Factiva guide from Proquest to help you search effectively.  Search Builder is useful if you want to search a particular publication or range of publications, as you can select them from the Sources menu. You select this option by choosing Search and then Search Builder from the menu.

You can use the information symbol next to each source to check on content coverage. For example, here is an outline of the Guardian's coverage on Factiva.


Factiva YouTube Channel

A number of videos are available to show you how to search using Factiva

Search Tools are provided to assist you to find material by topic, subject and title.  Use the Advanced Search option for more complex search input.

Gale OneFile News screenshot of search page

Business Source Complete is a leading business research database from EBSCO with the full text of over 3,000 business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade and news publications. All areas of business and economics are covered, including accounting, banking and management. It also includes a wealth of other information, including online books and monographs, case studies, conference proceedings, SWOT analyses and working papers.

The easiest way to search for news resources on this database is to run a search and then use the Refine Results option to limit your Source Type to Newspapers.  You might also want to include Trade Publications and Magazines if you are interested in more general news items.

 


 

If you know the name of the particular news source you wish to search, you can specify that in the Publication Name search option for a very precise search. In this example, we have searched for global warming and climate change within the Scientific American news magazine.

 
Publications

You can use the Publications option on the top menu bar to search or browse for content.  You can check on the availability of full text coverage. For some titles, you will have access to full text for a limited period, as sometimes there will be an embargo on current content. For some titles, bibliographic information only is available. See the examples of content availability of Scientific American below

 

You can also browse full Contents Lists from the EBSCO website in order to check if the news content you are interested in is covered by the database

The Proquest Business Collection consists of 6 business-related databases:

  • ABI/INFORM Complete
  • ProQuest Entrepreneurship
  • ProQuest Accounting & Tax
  • International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS)
  • ProQuest Asian Business and Reference
  • ProQuest Banking Information Source

Full text news sources from around the world are included as well as journal articles, conference and working papers, reports and much more.

Searching

Select the Advanced search option to be able to enter your search terms and work with the various search options. You can use the Source type to restrict your search just to Newspapers, or you could include other related news content such as Magazines, Trade Journals and Wire Feeds.

 

Browsing

You can choose the Publications option to browse or search for specific content. You can also choose to browse by the content type, so if you would like to see the range of Newspaper, Wire Feeds or other news related content, you can choose those Source Types and browse the titles and check on content availability. 

 

Help & Guidance

Use the Proquest Userguide to familiarise yourself with the database. 

Searching Online         

Conduct basic searches with the search box at the top of each page.  Click on the Search icon to open up the search box.

 

What is available?

You can search for articles and content from The Economist newspaper since June 1997, along with blogs and web-only content.

For earlier content you need to use the Economist Historical Archive Service which covers the period 1843 - 2014. 

 

Browsing

Use the print edition contents page lists and links to all articles in the current print edition. To view the contents of earlier print editions, browse the cover index.

You can also browse Economist articles by topic and view the collection of special reports.

FT requires user to reauthenticate annually via an institutional login.  Use this link when you are prompted to re-register after a year and this will restore your access. Login with your usual IT services username and password.

 

FT.com provides in depth coverage of UK and international business, finance, economic and political news. It also contains comment and analysis from leading journalists and insight into management trends and new developments. It contains the full content of all information published in the Financial Times since 2004. 

If you want to research earlier years, use The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010 a complete searchable facsimile of the printed edition.

The first time you use FT.com you will need to register.

  • Make sure you access the FT via the university systems (Library Search, the A-Z Databases List, or the link above). 
  • You should then be taken though to a form on the FT website (see below). Complete the form to activate your FT account.

 

  • You will get a confirmation that you have successfully registered.
  • Click on Browse FT.com to go back to the search screen

You will need to sign in with your email address and the password you have just created whenever you use FT.com. Use the link from the Electronic Library or the library catalogue for access. Please note you will need to re-authenticate yearly to maintain your access.

 

Searching 

You can run a quick search for articles by clicking on the search icon (magnifying glass) and then entering your search.

You can use the search filters to narrow your search by data range or keywords.

You can select a custom range to set an exact date range. Choose the same start and end date if you wish to search a particular day.

Browsing

To browse for the the latest news, run your mouse across the various headings in the menu bar at the top of the screen and click on the content you want to view.

You can choose from UK and World news, Companies, Markets, Opinion, etc.

Use the menu button in the top left to access other parts of the FT.com site such as today's newspapers, Videos, Special Reports etc.

Detailed browsing and searching

To search or browse in more detail, use the ePaper version.

Select ePaper from the menu button and then look at today's paper or the archive to browse and find articles.

Setting up An Account

  • To use the service you need to register and set up an account
  • Access the Times Higher Education website
  • Click on the red User account icon
  • Choose Register
  • Complete the setup questions
  • Ensure you use your UoE email address for registration

​Logging in

  • Access the Times Higher Education website
  • Click on the red User account icon
  • Choose Login
  • Login with your account details - this will be UoE email address plus the password you chose when you setup your account

 

 

Founded in 1949, the Current Digest was first published as The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991), followed by The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010), and now The Current Digest of the Russian Press. Each week the Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.

Contact Us