Skip to Main Content

Syon Abbey Collection

Guidance on Copyright

We would like the Syon Abbey Collection to be as accessible as possible to everyone, but at the same time we have to respect the rights of the record creators. Please note that archives and manuscripts in the Syon Abbey Collection are subject to copyright restrictions. This includes unpublished manuscripts in the Syon Abbey Medieval and Modern Manuscript Collection, which remain in copyright in the UK until 31 December 2039 in accordance with the 1988 Copyright, Designs and Patents Act. The Collection also contains works (including letters, documents, artworks and photographs) created by other individuals, communities and institutions, who hold the copyright to these records. 

Archival copying is done on a case-by-case basis in consultation with senior Special Collections staff and is dependent on copyright restrictions, the condition/nature of the item concerned, and the size of the order. If you wish to take photographs of any material in the Syon Abbey Collection with a digital camera during your visit to the reading room, please contact the Special Collections team for guidance before your visit by emailing us at libspc@exeter.ac.uk. If permission is granted, all images are for private research only.

Should you wish to reproduce, quote or publish quotations or images of any material in the Syon Abbey Collection, written consent for publication must first be obtained from Special Collections, in addition to the consent of the copyright holder when applicable.

Contact Us or Give Feedback