Skip to Main Content

Syon Abbey Collection

Papers relating to the library and its readership at Syon Abbey (EUL MS 265)

The catalogue of the Syon Abbey LIibrary was created at Syon Abbey between 1989-1990 by Marion Glasscoe and Claire Johnson during preparations for a change of premises. During this period, the pre-1850 items forming part of the library were transferred to the University of Exeter Library (now held in Special Collections): these books were denoted the classmark A. The remaining catalogue and associated papers in this collection were donated to the University Library in 2004.

This collection includes a paper catalogue of the library of Syon Abbey (14 softbound volumes of card-index entries and 19 boxes of the original loose index slips; papers relating to the cataloguing process; and papers relating to readership at Syon Abbey.

You can find the full description of this collection here on our online archives catalogue. This collection can be consulted in the reading room by prior appointment. Please contact Special Collections at libspc@exeter.ac.uk for more information.

Papers relating to the Syon Reliquary and Marion Glasscoe's relationship with Syon Abbey (EUL MS 394)

This collection comprises a small number of papers relating to Syon Abbey that were donated to the University by Marion Glasscoe, who catalogued and co-ordinated the transfer of the Syon Abbey Library Collection to Exeter University Library, 1989-1990.

You can find the full description of this collection here on our online archives catalogue. This collection can be consulted in the reading room by prior appointment. Please contact Special Collections at libspc@exeter.ac.uk for more information.

Photocopy of a letter from Sister Catherine Witham of Syon Abbey (EUL MS 459)

A letter from 'Catherine Witham de Sta. Anna', sent from 'Lisbon Sion house' to her 'Dear Mama' and dated 17 April 1763. It includes references to friends and family, cleaning her cell, worship, her decision to become a nun, praying for peace, and her duties as a 'hebdomadarium' [hebdomadary].

You can find the full description of this item here on our online archives catalogue. This item can be consulted in the reading room by prior appointment. Please contact Special Collections at libspc@exeter.ac.uk for more information.

Contact Us or Give Feedback