Skip to main content

Mining and Minerals Engineering: Home

Welcome to your LibGuide


Welcome to the Mining and Minerals  Engineering LibGuide

  Use this guide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.  

New to the University? Explore the 'Getting Started at the Library' guidance to learn all about the Library basics at Exeter and/or Cornwall.

Where to start your search

Library Search

Search for textbooks, ebooks, journals, articles + more.  Use Library Search LibGuide for guidance.

For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Expand your searching

Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings,  reports etc that match your search criteria. They help you to find information about previous publications in your research field.

The SCOPUS Quick Reference Guide will introduce you to the database.

Use the Web of Science LibGuide for comprehensive support and training.

You can use the databases A-Z list to explore other resources of relevance to Mining and Mineral Engineering. You can browse by subject Mining and Mineral Engineering or search to find your required resource.

British Standards Online (BSOL) is the online standards database that makes using standards easier and more cost-effective. You can access a comprehensive library of over internationally recognised standards. It’s available 24/7 and revised every single day so you’ll always be up to date on the latest industry best practice.

You can find out more about Standards in general from the Standards LibGuide.

In addition to British Standards, you can also access ASTM, ISO, CEN, CENELEC and IEC on BSOL.

Help and guidance is available in the BSOL user guide.  You can also view an introductory video online and other guidance material online via the BSI website. 

Knovel is a web-based application integrating technical information with analytical and search tools to drive innovation and deliver answers engineers can trust.

It provides general reference and best practice insights, process and design applications, material and substance properties data, and equations for engineering disciplines.

There is searchable online access to hundreds of handbooks, data books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and technical reference works.

For training and support on Knovel, visit the Knovel Support Center. A range of video tutorials and webinars are available to help you make the most use of the service.

Loading ...

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc. 

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

  • It is  easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.  
  • Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information. 

 

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations.  Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

 

You may like to take a look at:

Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.

Academic Skills Support

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. 

It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

Loading ...
Contact Us