Skip to main content

Researcher Development - Library Skills for Researchers: Home

This guide is aimed at PGR students introducing a range of library skills required during the compilation of their thesis and early career.

Welcome to the LibGuide for Postgraduate Researchers

  Use this guide to quickly find out about library services and support available to PGRs.

PGR Library Support

The Liaison Librarians can help you identify and access the best sources of information for your research.

You can:

  • Contact us for advice via email, phone or in person
  • Book a 1:1 appointment for tailored library research support
  • Let us know what how we can improve library services

Library Liaison Team @ Exeter

E-mail: library@exeter.ac.uk

Click here to arrange a 1:1 appointment. 

Library Liaison Team @ Cornwall

E-mail: libhelp@fxplus.ac.uk 

Click here to arrange a 1:1 appointment

Digital First

The library aims to buy resources in digital format before print wherever possible.

This provides students with the maximum access to our collection.

Over 50% of our collection is currently available in digital format and this collection will continue to expand.

Accessing the online library

You  must have an Exeter Unicard in order to access the online library materials. Click here to find out how to get one.

Feedback

Have you found this information useful?
What else should be on this page?
Let us know by completing the short Feedback form.

Essential library skills

Find out about Library Services, access Library Search and the A to Z database list in this section.

Your subject guide

Your Subject guide is the gateway to library resources. 
Each guide contains details of the core databases for your subject alongside other research sources, information on search techniques and guidance on finding relevant material.

Find your subject guide from the list below:

 

Need something that we don't have?

As a researcher, at some point in your research, it is highly likely that you will need to access resources held outside of the university library collections.

The library offers a number of services to help you access these materials. Find out more by exploring the guides below.

PGR Study spaces in the library

There are a number of bookable PGR study spaces in the Reading Room of the Old Library on Exeter Streatham campus.

 

 

Please be aware that your booking will show on the display screen at the entrance of the Old Library building including your full name. 

Contact Us