📢 Exciting Opportunity for Writers 📢
Special Collections is thrilled to launch the annual Ronald Duncan Stipends for Southwest Writing. These Stipends are funded by a donation from the Ronald Duncan Literary Foundation to continue the his legacy of experimental and cross-disciplinary writing.
Each year, three talented writers will have the chance to explore our incredible archives to inspire new creative works. We’re looking for innovative minds eager to engage with our collections in fresh and exciting ways, producing original writing and sharing their journey with the public.
While the University of Exeter Special Collections (Exeter & Penryn campuses) will be the core focus, we welcome projects that connect with other heritage organisations, weaving rich narratives across multiple collections.
Each year one of these stipends may be offered in partnership with another organisation and take a specific focus. For 2025 we are partnering with Exeter City of Literature to offer one of the stipends to a writer from another UNESCO City of Literature. You can find more about this particular stipend here.
✅ £2,000 stipend to support your time and expenses
✅ Up to £500 for outreach and engagement activities
✅ Specialist guidance from our expert Special Collections team
✅ Access to a vibrant network of university partners & professionals
If you’re passionate about archives, storytelling, and bringing history to life through writing, this is your chance! Your next great story starts here...
Ronald Duncan (1914-1982), pictured right in his writing hut on the cliffs of Welcombe, North Devon, was a productive West Country author, journalist, playwright, poet, and scriptwriter. He may be best known as the librettist for Benjamin Britten's The Rape of Lucretia (1946) and for his poem The Horse, which is read annually at the Horse of the Year show. His career encompassed experiments with several writing forms including his epic poem Man (The Complete Cantos, 1980), and a one act play in Stereophonic Sound O-B-A-F-G. Duncan left the legacy of a fascinating archive of literary and personal papers, the Ronald Duncan Collection, which was donated to Special Collections in 2016.
Find out more about Ronald Duncan in our online exhibition
Ready to bring history to life through your writing? Don’t miss this incredible opportunity—start your application today.
The deadline for applications is: Sunday, 15th June (Midnight)
Application through the online form is preferred, but if you are unable to use the online form a word version of the application can be downloaded below.
*please note that the word version of the form was updated 09/04/2025 to correct an error relating to which questions should be completed for which stipend*
We’re looking for passionate writers who are eager to dive into the Special Collections and create something truly unique. To be eligible for the Ronald Duncan Stipend, you:
✅ Must have a strong connection to the Southwest (not applicable for the stipend in partnership with Exeter City of Literature). This could mean:
✅ Can be at any stage of your career—emerging, mid-career, or established writers are all welcome.
✅ Must be able to travel to visit the Special Collections (remote participation is not possible due to the nature of the archives).
✅ Must be over 18
✅ Must be proficient in English.
✅ We strongly encourage applications from writers with diverse lived experiences, offering fresh perspectives on the collections.
If this sounds like you, we’d love to hear your ideas.
As a stipend holder, you’ll share your journey through Special Collections’ social media presence. Beyond this, you’ll create a unique piece of work inspired by your experience, or share your experience with the collections through a public outreach event:
Literary Works (Examples Include):
Have another idea? We welcome innovative suggestions—just run them by the panel for approval.
Outreach Events (Examples Include):
We encourage fresh, creative approaches—if you have a different concept for an outreach event, feel free to propose it for approval. Each stipend has a budget of up to £500 towards the costs of running outreach events.
This is your chance to bring Special Collections to life in new and exciting ways. What will you create?
In celebration of Exeter's status as a UNESCO City of Literature we have partnered with Exeter City of Literature (EXCOL) to offer one of the stipends to a writer from another UNESCO City of Literature.
What's different about this stipend?
This stipend follows the same eligibility requirements as the standard stipend, with one key difference: Instead of having a connection to the South West, applicants must be writers from another UNESCO City of Literature.
To make this opportunity accessible to writers from across the UNESCO Cities of Literature network, the stipend includes up to £1,000 to cover travel and accommodation expenses on top of the standard stipend award.
Additionally, EXCOL is offering:
✅ A dedicated writing space for 1–2 days per week
✅ Access to local, national, and international networks
✅ Opportunities to participate in EXCOL Partnership events, subject to scheduling
This is a fantastic opportunity for writers to immerse themselves in a new literary environment while connecting with a vibrant creative community.
Apply through the standard application form and select "Stipend in partnership with Exeter City of Literature".
Thinking of Applying? Let’s Talk.
We encourage all potential applicants to book a slot at one of our online surgeries or in-person tours—a great chance to discuss any practical considerations for your proposed use of the collections.
Our expert staff can help with:
📅 Online surgery dates (bookable 15 min slots):
📅 In person tour dates (booking required):
📩 Reserve your slot: Email libspc@exeter.ac.uk to book a time.
❓ How do we define "writer"?
These stipends are open to a broad definition of writers. Including, but not limited to:
❓ How do we define South West?
For the purposes of the stipend the South West is defined in line with the 9 official regions of England. Including:
❓ What are the limitations on what can be done with the collections?
Activities that may cause damage to the collections will not be permitted: including exposure to dirt, damage, food & drink or harmful intensities or spectrums of light. Removal of original material offsite will only be allowed in exceptional circumstances. Special Collections staff can advise if you have any concerns around your proposed use.
❓ How will I be able to access the collections?
The collections can be accessed during the opening hours of the Ronald Duncan Reading Room. See our Visiting Heritage Collections guidance for more information on the Reading Room hours and regulations.
❓ Can I reproduce items from the collection?
Reproduction or publication of items from the collection will be dependent on the decision of the relevant Copyright Holder. If your proposal relies on publishing or reproducing items from the collection we would advise you contact the rights holder in advance of submission to se if they would be open to this. Special Collections staff can assist stipend holders in contacting Copyright Holders to request permission.
❓ Can I use your rare book collections?
The stipends are intended to support innovative approaches to engaging with the unique primary sources found in our archive collections. While you're welcome to draw inspiration from our rare book collections, your project should centre primarily on at least one of our archive collections.
❓ Can I use the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum collections?
The stipends are focused on the archive collections contained within Special Collections. While you're welcome to use items from the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum as secondary research sources, your project should centre primarily on material held in the Special Collections. Please note that material from the Bill Douglas Cinema may come up in searches in our catalogue, look at the repository field of the catalogue to see which department they are held by.
❓ Can I use the stipend towards writing a book I am already contracted for?
No, the stipend can’t be used for a book that’s already under contract. If you’re planning to use it for a project you’ve started writing but haven’t yet secured a contract for, just make sure it’s clear how the collections will be a key part of your research—not just something you’re adding in afterward.
❓ I work at the University of Exeter or a partner organization. Can I apply?
Yes. We acknowledge that many staff may also be writers, so if you are employed by the University of Exeter or a partner organisation you are welcome to apply, provided that the stipend work is undertaken outside of your regular employment.
❓ When will the stipends run?
The stipends will be awarded annually, running September to August. The timeline for working with the collections will be agreed upon between the stipend holder and Special Collections staff. However, all work, including any output or outreach activities, must be completed within the stipend year.
❓ How will applications be assessed?
Applications will be assessed by the judging panel against:
In the event of a large number of outstanding submissions, shortlisted applicants may be invited to interview (online or in person).
❓ Who will form the panel?
The judging panel will have a minimum of three members, one of which will always be a member of Special Collections staff. The other panel members may vary by year, including:
❓ When will I hear back?
Shortlisting will take place over the summer. If interviews are required these are expected to take place in August with successful applicants being announced in September.
❓ Can you help with Accommodation?
University Accommodation may be available to book in the Easter and Summer vacation periods. Visit Event Exeter for more information and contact Special Collections before booking to see if any reduced rates are available. Visit Exeter may also be of use.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
