Skip to Main Content

Archives and Special Collections

Special Collections Exhibitions

Special Collections regularly organises new exhibitions of materials from the collections, both online and in display cases on the the University of Exeter's Streatham and St Luke's campsues. All exhibitions are available for everyone to visit or view.

Please see this page for details about physical and digital exhibitions.

Exhibitions on the University campuses

Exhibitions of Special Collections materials can be found in several of the University of Exeter's libraries on Streatham and St Luke's campuses. These are available for everyone - including members of the public - to visit during library opening hours.

Please see details below for locations and subjects of the current exhibitions, as of March 2024. New exhibitions are installed bi-annually and details will be updated accordingly.


Old Library (see building opening hours)

- Two display cases outside the Ronald Duncan (Special Collections) Reading Room in the corridor leading to Seminar Room A/B: The David Rees Collection (curated from the Literary Papers of David Rees) and An Introduction to Special Collections and Archives

- One display case in the Ronald Duncan (Special Collections) Reading Room (opening hours 10am-12:30pm, 1:30pm-4:30pm, Monday to Friday): 'With the compliments of Hercule Poirot...': Poirot in the Archive (curated from the Agatha Christie business papers)


Forum Library (see building opening hours)

Please note: the display cases are situated close to the entrance from the staircase on each floor

- Display case on Level -1: Perspectives on the Metaphysical (display by student Chloe Cicely Chandler, Library Champion)

- Display case on Level 0: University Sports (curated from the University Archive)

- Display case on Level +1: Sir Harold Harding's Chunnel Vision (curated from the Papers of Sir Harold Harding)


St Luke's Library (Haighton) (see building opening hours)

- Display case on Level +1: Treasures from the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum (curated from the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum collections)

Digital exhibitions by Special Collections & Archives at the University of Exeter's Penryn Campus

Digital exhibitions created by Special Collections & Archives at the University of Exeter's Penryn Campus are available to view online. They include Out and About with Mr Woolf and Cornwall's Maritime Churches (both curated from the Charles Woolf Archive); Kneehigh@40 (curated from the Kneehigh Archive); and In Celebration of Nick Darke and Joseph Emidy (curated from the Nick Darke Archive).

Click here for more information

Contact Us or Give Feedback