This LibGuide provides an overview of some of the University archive materials held by the University of Exeter Special Collections. Each page below describes a different part of the archive and how you can explore it further.
The resources highlighted in this guide have been identified using our catalogues, but are not exhaustive. You can search our archives catalogue and library catalogue with key word searches to identify further items of interest. More information on searching the catalogues can be found on the Search our Catalogues LibGuide. If you come across any other sources within our collections that you think should be included in this guide, we would be very pleased to hear about them.
Archives and rare books held by Special Collections are available to everyone. More information about accessing the collections can be found in our Visiting Heritage Collections LibGuide. Please note that there may be some restrictions on accessing and copying (including photography) material in the archives and books held by Special Collections in line with current data protection and copyright legislation. Always make sure to check the access conditions on the archive catalogue and email Special Collections before your visit for more information about specific restrictions.
The University archive is extensive [over 150 linear metres] but only partially catalogued, so we have significant amounts of unsorted material. There are also gaps in the early records due to the Registry at Gandy Street being destroyed during air raids in 1942. Researchers, Alumni and members of the public are welcome to visit to research the archive and go through some of the unsorted materials. These pages show the different sections of the archive and the types of material it contains. Catalogued sections will have a reference number beginning EUL UA to help you identify them, more detailed lists of materials are available on request by contacting Special Collections.
Archive materials from the collection can be searched via our archives catalogue. See here for the catalogue entry.
Printed materials (books, pamphlets, student publications, University publications) can be searched online via the Library Catalogue. Enter a keyword/title/author into the search box, filter the results by selecting 'Special Collections' from the list of locations on the left hand side.
See our online guide for more information on searching our catalogues.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
