University photographs, EUL UA/P
The University of Exeter photograph archive (EUL UA/P) comprises photographs of the University of Exeter and its predecessor institutions including the Exeter Technical and University Extension College, Royal Albert Memorial College, University College of the South West and St. Luke's College.
Some photographs have been catalogued and are listed on the online archives catalogue. However, many boxes of photographs are still uncatalogued. Alumni and members of the public are welcome to visit our Reading Room to look through some of this unsorted material.
A selection of photographs from this collection have been digitised and are available to browse via the Digital Collections website of the University of Exeter Special Collections.
This collection contains a diverse range of photographs from throughout the history of the University of Exeter and its predecessor institutions, including photographs of St Luke's.
The collection contains photographs of staff and students from the early 20th century, and covers in great detail the mammoth building programme for the Streatham campus, especially in the 1950s and 1960s. Key events are also included, such as the presentation of the University Charter, visits by royalty and degree congregations. Student and academic life are represented, including Guild and Athletics Union activities. Coverage for some periods is patchy, perhaps in some cases due to the fact that the University Registry was bombed during the Second World War.
The photographic archive is arranged and catalogued to reflect the progression of the University from the city centre site at Gandy Street to the development of the Streatham Campus, the individuals who have shaped its history throughout this period and the various events or activities which collectively have created the University's particular identity.
Additional photographs, EUL UA/P add. 0-30
Other photographs have been transferred from the Design Unit, unlisted.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
