Theatre Royal Playbill Collection (EUL MS 202)
Playbill for 'A Sacred Concert' by the Newport Welsh Chor at the Theatre Royal in Exeter on 18 November 1917.
The text at the head of the playbill reads: 'National Institute for the Blind'. At the bottom of the playbill is noted: 'Proceeds in aid of St Dunstan's Hostel for Blinded Soldiers'. The playbill also advertises that two selections will be played on the piano by 'Mr W. Wolstenholme, Mus. Bac., Oxon. The well known blind composer and extemporiser'.
Further information can be found on the archives catalogue under the reference number: EUL MS 202/1917/40
Northcott Theatre Archive (EUL MS 348)
Programme: 'Children of a Lesser God'
Two programmes for the Northcott Theatre's production of Mark Medoff's 'Children of a Lesser God'. The play by Mark Medoff focuses on the conflicted professional and romantic relationship between Sarah Norman, a deaf student, and her former teacher, James Leeds. (09 Sep 1986)
Further information can be found on the archives catalogue under the reference number: EUL MS 348/PROD/PROG/245
Poster: 'Hassan'
Poster for a Gillford Williams production of James Elroy Flecker's play, adapted by Pat Keysell and presented by 'The National Theatre of the Deaf'. (no date)
Further information can be found on the archives catalogue under the reference number: EUL MS 348/PROD/POST/359
Press Office File: 'Peter Pan'
Includes production photos, negatives, photocopies of letters from the 'Royal School for the Deaf' and an analysis of the production statistics. (13 Dec 1995 - 20 Jan 1996)
Further information can be found on the archives catalogue under the reference number: EUL MS 348/MP/PO/163
Press Office File: 'Simplicity'
Includes headshots of cast. Mention of signed performances for deaf people. (26 Apr - 14 May 1988)
Further information can be found on the archives catalogue under the reference number: EUL MS 348/MP/PO/113
Prompt book for 'Whose Life is it Anyway?'
Content Advice: The item below relates to assisted dying
'Whose Life Is It Anyway?' is a play by Brian Clark which involves a sculptor who was paralysed from the neck down (quadriplegia) in a car accident and is determined to be allowed to die. The prompt book includes manuscript notes and lists relating to props, setting and wardrobe. Also includes one typescript props list. There are also manuscript notes describing how characters would fill and use a syringe, photocopied pages from the book 'Illustrated Guide to Orthopaedic Nursing' showing the care of a patient undergoing spinal surgery, and photocopied pages of a guide to the Mental Health Act. Also included are several pages of typescript production notes and rehearsal notes.
Further information can be found on the under the reference number: EUL MS 348/PROD/PB/97