Archives relating to medicine and healthcare in the UK
EUL MS 4 - Edward Cahen photographic collection, including one album relating to medicine, especially the staff at St Bartholomew's Hospital, London (c 1911-1923)
EUL MS 13 - Margaret Littlewood papers relating to Ford Manor (school of music and physical therapy) (1957-1959)
EUL MS 37a - Ransom Pickard treatise on the population and epidemics of Exeter (1947)
EUL MS 237 - Papers of Sue Jennings relating to dramatherapy (1964-1994)
EUL MS 243 - Transcripts (anonymised) of interviews of staff associated with the Royal Western Counties Institution
EUL MS 315 - Papers of the International Association for Research in Economic Psychology (IAREP) (1980s-1990s)
EUL MS 435/6/3/8 - Material relating to Emilie Harmsworth's qualification and work as a nurse (1912-1933)
EUL MS 491 (cataloguing in progress) - Archive of papers relating to Professor Clive Lee's research on the "Exeter Hip".
Archives relating to medicine and healthcare in Lebanon
EUL MS 115/24/9 - Reports on conditions in Lebanon by Derek and Pamela Cooper (1982)
EUL MS 115/39/11 - Report on the Condition of the Palestinian People in the Camps of South Lebanon (1982)
Archives relating to medicine and healthcare in Iraq
EUL MS 143/10/3/22 - Folder of presscuttings, telex reports and other papers relating to shortages of food and medicine caused by UN sanctions against Iraq (1990-1991)
EUL MS 143/11/1-3 - Papers relating to healthcare and hospitals in Iraq (1979-1991)
EUL MS 143/18/2 - Family Planning and Child Healthcare in Iraq (c 1980s)
Archives relating to medicine and healthcare in Jerusalem
EUL MS 115/38/6 - Folder of annual reports, correspondence, newsletters and other material relating to the Spafford Children's Hospital in Jerusalem (1966-1977)
Archives relating to medicine and healthcare in Kurdistan
EUL MS 403/3/19 - Papers relating to the Association of Kurdish Doctors
EUL MS 403/8/2/12 - A folder of papers relating to medicines and medical aid (1967-1995)
Highlights
The Hypatia Collection consists of approximately 10,000 books and journals by or about women. The collection includes a range of books and pamphlets concerning the natural world. To search the entire Hypatia Collection, use the Advanced Keyword Search page of the University of Exeter Library Catalogue. Type 'Hypatia' into one field and a keyword or name into the second field. Select 'Special Collections' from the 'Search in the' field.
You can also search the collection by subject:
The heart of the Nursing Ethics Heritage Collection is the personal research 
library of Professor Marsha Fowler. In 1977, Professor Fowler began collecting books to support her research into the development of nursing ethics and the American Nurses Association code of Ethics for Nurses. Many of these key texts were not available to consult in academic libraries. At the University of Surrey, the Special Collections collaborated with Professor Fowler and Professor Ann Gallagher to develop the collection by acquiring further publications and materials concerning nursing, the history of nursing, bioethics, women, religion and health, with titles leading up to the present day. The collection was transferred to the University of Exeter Special Collections in 2021.
The collection comprises almost 500 books, periodicals and articles, including works dating from 1888 to editions of ‘Nursing Ethics: An International Journal for Health Care Professionals’ published as recently as 2017. Many of the books contain the names of former owners inscribed within, as well as annotations and underlined words in the text, highlighting their importance in shaping the study and work of nurses. Though predominantly consisting of English-language works, the collection also includes texts in Italian, Dutch, Hungarian, Russian and Japanese.
The online catalogue for the collection can be found here under collection reference EUL MS 472/NEHC. The six main sections of the collection comprise:
EUL MS 472/NEHC/1 – Texts from the nursing ethics heritage period, 1860s-1965
EUL MS 472/NEHC/2 – Texts relating to Bioethics
EUL MS 472/NEHC/3 – Texts and audio visual material relating to nursing bioethics
EUL MS 472/NEHC/4 – Biographical records relating to nurse ethicists
EUL MS 472/NEHC/5 – Histories of nursing ethics
EUL MS 472/NEHC/6 – Contextual publications for medical practice, nursing and ethics
EUL MS 472/NEHC/7 – Codes of ethics for nurses
The Map and Cartography Collections include a copy of a 'Map of Exeter in 1832: Shewing the localities where the Deaths caused by Pestilential Cholera occurred in the years 1832, 1833, & 1834'. This is a modern copy of a map by Dr. Thomas Shapter, printed in 'The History of the Cholera in Exeter in 1832' (1849). The first cholera outbreak reached England in the autumn of 1831 and arrived in Exeter in July 1832. Horizontal bars (1832), diamonds (1833), and dots (1834) identify the location of the individual cholera deaths for those years. A legend box at the side of the map references sites relating to the city’s response to the epidemic, including places where contaminated clothes were destroyed and burial grounds. The second legend box lists the parishes by the percentage of the population who died of cholera.
A high-resolution image of the map can be found here on our Digital Collections site.
Further information about map collections can be found on our Rare Books and Map Collections guide.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
