Special Collections: Science, Technology and Medicine

Archives relating to astronomy

EUL MS 72 - Norman Lockyer Observatory papers (c 1913-1990s)

EUL MS 110 - Sir Joseph Norman Lockyer correspondence and research papers (c 1869-1920)

EUL MS 110 add.1 - Sir Joseph Norman Lockyer correspondence and research papers: additional Lockyer copy correspondence relating to Meadows' biography of Lockyer (mid to late 20th century)

EUL MS 114 - Papers of Sir Joseph Norman Lockyer and the Norman Lockyer Observatory (Royal Astronomical Society) c (1876-c 1969)

EUL MS 128 - Papers relating to the Norman Lockyer Observatory (Schlapp) (1851-1985)

EUL MS 303 - Papers of Donald Barber, partly relating to the Norman Lockyer Observatory (1910s-1990s)

Archives relating to chemistry

EUL MS 39 - Hubert Britton papers relating to chemistry (1930s-1950s)

EUL MS 251 - Offprints of chemistry articles by Prof H Norman Rydon (1933-1970)

Archives relating to engineering

EUL MS 337 - Papers of Sir Harold Harding, including reports, photographs, lantern slides and prints relating to exploratory works for a channel tunnel and Piccadilly Circus (20th century)

EUL MS 337 add. 1 - Additional Papers of Sir Harold Harding, including reports, documents, photographs, and prints relating to exploratory works mainly concerning the Channel tunnel (20th century)

Archives relating to geology

EUL MS 56 - Records of the Santa Teresa Mine, Guadalajara, Mexico (1877-1898)

EUL MS 59 - Charles Osman notes relating to Devon geology (1922-1923)

EUL MS 60 - Edgar Martin papers relating to Devon geology (1906-1908)

EUL MS 416/PRO/9/6 - Papers relating to geology and sculptures based on Local Distinctiveness (c 1979-2007)

Archives relating to physics

EUL MS 14 - William Lynd's diary, including information about his making of wax cylinder recordings and touring with a phonograph (1899)

Archives relating to technology

EUL MS 14 - William Lynd's diary, including information about his making of wax cylinder recordings and touring with a phonograph (1899)

EUL MS 110 - The so-called 'Marconi telegram' is included in Sir Joseph Norman Lockyer correspondence and research papers. It notifies Sir Norman Lockyer of the first Atlantic transmission using Ether waves, sent from Marconi at Mullion, Cornwall, to Sir Norman Lockyer of the Solar Physics Observatory, South Kensington, London, 12 January 1903, with copy telegram on reverse to Marconi from Norman Lockyer confirming receipt. (MS 110/Box 14/ZT)

EUL MS 119/2/3 - Material relating to the John Craven Wilkinson's work in the oil industry (1948-1979)

EUL MS 129/1/3/1 - Two copies of Nazih Ayubi's paper 'Technology Policies in Egypt: scientists, technocrats and public policy' (December 1981)

EUL MS 143/8 - Papers relating to Education, Science and Technology in Iraq (1981-1991)

EUL MS 143/13/3 - Papers relating to Iraq's nuclear power (1980-1991)

EUL MS 143/13/6 - Papers relating to Iraq's chemical weapons (c 1980s-1990s)

EUL MS 143/21/4 - Papers relating to railways in Iraq (1982-1989)

EUL MS 143/21/8 - Papers relating to telecommunications in Iraq (1979-1991)

EUL MS 270 - Papers relating to the Technical and Vocational Education Initiative (1975-1998)

EUL MS 348/PROD/DES - Series of ground plans, working drawings, technical drawings and sketches for productions staged at the Northcott Theatre and Northcott Studio Theatre (1977-1996)

EUL MS 348/BUILD - Architects drawings, electrical plans and technical drawings showing the sound, projection and lighting systems for the Northcott Theatre (1962-2007)

EUL MS 491 (cataloguing in progress) - Archive of papers relating to Professor Clive Lee's research on the "Exeter Hip"