Exeter Cathedral Library and Archives
Exeter Cathedral Library contains nearly 3,000 historical medical and scientific books from medieval medical miscellanies containing charms and recipes, through to Victorian anatomical atlases, via herbals, chemistry, natural philosophy and astronomy. You can find out more about these collections in the following blogs posts:
or by contacting Exeter Cathedral Library and Archives.
National Meteorological Library and Archive
The National Meteorological Library and Archive is part of the Met Office. The library holds a huge collection of books, ebooks and e-journals on all aspects of weather and climate. The Archive holds the ‘National Memory of the Weather’ including weather observations from the UK and other countries, publications and rare books. The bulk of the collection covers 1854 – today but we do have some earlier records in private weather diaries and ships meteorological logs. The collection is relevant to history of science, environment science and some aspects of social science.
Further information is available from:
Our Catalogue
Our Web pages
Our Digital Library and Archive – which holds a wide range of digitisied historical publications and records
Our Meteorological fact sheets, Historical weather fact sheets and Hidden Treasures
Our Google Arts and Culture Online Hub
If you are looking for historical weather data a free self-service web based source of Met Office data is available via the Centre for Environmental Data Analysis (CEDA). You will need to register and be over 18 in order to access the datasets. You can find more information here.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
