These online workshops will take a look at how to run searches using databases such as APA PsycInfo and Medline on the Ovid platform.
We'll explore:
There will be time for questions, so please do come along if you need any help or support. Book your place now!
The session would be of interest to anyone undertaking medical, health or psychology research.
Natasha Bayliss
The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection contains over 2,500 specially commissioned, multi-media, online lectures by leading world experts from universities, research centres, medical schools, and pharmaceutical/biotech companies.
Subject areas include biochemistry, cell biology, genetics, immunology, microbiology, nutrition, and neuroscience. New material is added every month!
Use the search bar on the top left of any page to run a search in the collection or click ‘Subjects’ and select the ‘Category’ or ‘Therapeutic Area’ of choice to browse the collection.
Cochrane Interactive Learning is an online learning platform consisting of eleven modules to help you improve your knowledge and skills in conducting systematic reviews.
Although designed to support healthcare intervention reviews, any researchers conducting different types of systematic reviews are likely to benefit from modules one to three!
Why use it?
Modules cover the full process of conducting a systematic review and features sections on writing the review protocol, searching for studies and analysing the data. These are useful for anyone undertaking a systematic review.
Access:
The first time you use the resource you will need to register by the custom link below, as a personal account is required.
Getting started:
Once you have registered you can login and access the modules. You can work through all the modules or select the ones you wish to complete.
Nicola Nye
A substantial archive of publications produced by the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS), a unit operating within the United States CIA, from 1957-1995. The JPRS unit produced English translations of foreign-language monographs, reports, serials, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts from across the world, with a focus on communist and developing countries. These translations were produced for use by U.S government officials, U.S. agencies and research and industrial communities.
You can search across the entire collection:
Ovid is an advanced search platform allowing you to perform sophisticated literature searches. The University has access to a number of OVID databases, primarily in the fields of medicine, psychology, and life and health sciences, but also covering the agriculture and forestry disciplines. You can browse the list of available databases below:
Full text database covering psychology and related disciplines.
APA PsycExtra is a psychological gray literature database. Content includes research reports, conference abstracts and presentations, newsletters, reports, magazines, brochure/fact sheets, and more.
Extensive bibliographic database covering psychology and related disciplines.
An index to scholarly literature in agriculture, forestry, and allied disciplines in the life sciences, including aspects of human health and nutrition.
Biomedical and pharmacological research databases
Literature relating to global public health issues. Useful for research into national and international public health topics.
Healthcare management research database covering health policy, quality and safety, management and administration.
Research literature database covering all aspects of human medicine and related biomedical research.
Evidence-based social science research database for policy-makers and practitioners within health and social care.
In order to get the most from the Ovid databases, you should take full advantage of their advanced search functionality in order to produce a powerful advanced search strategy which will yield highly focussed search results.
Each of the databases has its own specialiast functionality, incoprorating discipline specific subject headings or thesaurui so we recommend you search each database iindividually to take advantage of these subject specific functions.
At first, the search interface can seem a little daunting. And if you do not frame a search correctly you may find your search produces too few results or an over abundance of irrelevant results.
To help you get to grips with this, we have just released a Searching Ovid Databases guide. You can use this guide to assist you as you start building your searches. It will guide you through:
Click on the image to jump into the support Guide and start building your Ovid Search Skills
The University is now an institutional subscriber to the Overton platform whose mission is to help users find, understand, and measure their influence on government policy.
Overton is the world’s largest searchable and curated policy database. It tracks a wide range of policy documents such as white papers, working papers, government guidance, think tank policy briefs, national clinical guidelines etc and indexes and organises these materials to support analysis via key terms / topic / themes.
It also maps connections between these documents and scholarly research and news content to see where ideas, papers, reports and staff are being cited or mentioned.
This database enables researchers to track the impact of their own work on policy as well as investigate the dynamics of global policy making.
Access and Registration
Login to Overton
You will be prompted to create a new user account for Overton. Complete the registration form to activate your account.
Getting help
Keep up to date
To keep up to date with developments you can Sign up to Overton’s monthly newsletter, which contains new features and other useful information for users.