Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: Home

Subject Guide - help and guidance on finding resources in your subject area

 

   Welcome to the Psychology LibGuide

   Use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.

New to the University?  Explore the Library Induction to learn all about the Library basics. 

Your Psychology Librarian

Profile Photo
Natasha Bayliss

Live online database workshops

***New for 2022/23 *** 

Live Online Workshops

Next session 14th December

Book your place now! 

Where to start your search

Library Search

Search for print books, ebooks, journals, articles + more.  Use Library Search LibGuide for guidance.

For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Accessing psychology resources

how to access your reading list guide
Finding psychology e-books
Finding full text psychology articles

Expand your searching

There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your study and research. Key resources are highlighted in the adjacent tabs.

Explore the how to find resources guide as a starting point. For more in depth guidance on accessing and using relevant databases explore the Psychology Database guide. 

Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings,  reports etc that match your search criteria. They help you to find information about previous publications in your research field.

You can see a full list of relevant databases in the A-Z database listing under Psychology.

 

APA PsycInfo and PsyARTICLES use the Ovid platform. This video provides an introduction.

For in depth guidance on searching Ovid explore the Searching Ovid LibGuide.

You can see a full list of relevant databases in the A-Z database listing under Psychology
You may also find wider Education databases useful. 

Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you. You can browse by subject (e.g. Psychology) or type (e.g. maps, news, images etc.) or search to find your required resource.

 

You can use the following services to explore research materials available elsewhere
 

  • Library hub discover - Search a trial database of UK and Irish academic, national & specialist library catalogues.

  • WorldCAT - search the collections of libraries in your community and tens of thousands more around the world.  

  • The European Library - access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.

  • The Library of Congress -  catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections in the USA.

  • CORE - gives an incredibly fast search of the full-text of 80M open access research resources

I am looking for...

You are likely to use a wide range of different types of information sources for your study and research. 

As well as academic sources such as books and journals,  you may wish to consult news sources, official publications, statistics etc. 

Use the online support highlighted here to guide your searching.  

  • News sources can be invaluable research resources. 
  • They provide contemporaneous accounts of events as they emerge and unfold, affording a snapshot of developments at a point in time.
  • You can engage in historical research by tracing commentary on issues over time, to identify and track changing political, economic and social trends. 
  • The availability of news resources online allows for very effective and comprehensive searching, in a way that was impossible with print or microfilm / microfiche editions of the newspapers 

Find out more on the News LibGuide.

  • Official publications are documents and other resources produced by Parliament and Government during the course of parliamentary and government business.
  • Content ranges from statements of law and policy to government reports and statistics.  
  • These publications can be a very valuable primary research source as they address all aspects of governmental work such as science, education, law, agriculture, transport, health etc.

Find out more in the Official Publications LibGuide.

  • Statistics is the science of collecting, analysing and presenting numerical data.

  • Statistical data can be found on a huge variety of subjects, for example the economy, employment, the environment, government, health, international trade, manufacturing, and population.

  • Health policies and guidelines from the Department of Health and NICE could be a source of information for your studies.

Find out more on the Statistics LibGuide.

Documentaries and films can offer insight into understandings and perceptions on psychological topics. Here are some key resources to explore, see the A-Z database list for additional resources.

There is a psychology collection available via Kanopy. You can view this collection here.

The term is used to describe a wide range of different information that is produced outside of traditional publishing and distribution channels, and which is often not well represented in indexing databases.

Explore the Grey Literature guide to find out more. 

I am looking for...

The following tabs highlight a range of Psychology specific information sources which you may wish to consult.

To explore further resources visit the Searching for specific types of information libguide

There are a range of online anatomy resources available to you. Find out more on the Anatomy Resources guide.

Psychological tests or measures are instruments that allow researchers to measure a particular variable such as memory, intelligence or personality.

Explore the Psychological tests guide to find out more. 

A systematic review is a summary of all of the literature on a particular topic, that meets pre-defined eligibility criteria.

The introductory guide provides an overview of these types of resources. If you are undertaking a psychology related systematic review remember to explore the systematic literature searching guide as well. 

There are a number of resources you can use to find existing systematic literature reviews. 

Online Tutorials

Psychology finding and using library resources tutorial link

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc. 

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

  • It is  easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.  
  • Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information. 

 

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations.  Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of study skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.

Study Skills Support

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. 

It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

Study skills support

Student digital skills support

The Digital Hub is a place where you can get support to use all the digital tools available to you.

Study skills resources

A list of introductory e-books on essential study skills. 

Study Zone Digital support

Study Zone aims to provide high quality guidance to support your learning.

Contact Us or Give Feedback