All Digimap users please note the Collection formerly known as Geomni has now been rebranded as Verisk . All data, support materials and access remain unaffected, only the name has changed! Look out for Digimap Verisk.
With news of the discovery of the Endurance in the Antarctic, a timely note that the Royal Geographical Society digital archive includes thousands of primary documents relating to the expedition.
Not only photographs of the ship and her crew but also rare materials relating to the mission, such as Shackleton’s prospectus for investors, as well as papers given by crew members after it (with associated charts).
You can access the RGS archive via the A-Z database listing.
Run a simple search for ‘Endurance’ or ‘Shackleton’ to find material from the Imperial Tans-Antarctic Expredition 1914-1917 (Endurance).
You can also explore Shackleton’s earlier expeditions: National Antarctic Expedition 1901-1904 (Discovery) and British Antarctic Expedition 1907-1909 (Nimrod).
Two new collections are now available via the University's subscription to Digimap - Geomni and AgCensus!
The Agricultural Census is conducted annually by the government departments dealing with Agriculture and Rural Affairs for Scotland, England, and Wales. Farmers are surveyed and asked to declare the agricultural activity on their land. AgCensus provides access to a time series of grid square based data derived from the survey.
Geomni consists of three parts: 
- UKMap: a modern, detailed, feature-rich mapping databases of Greater London.
- UKBuildings: a unique database to help you understand the age, structure, characteristics and use of commercial, public and residential buildings across Great Britain.
- UKLand: a national land information database providing a detailed breakdown of land use across the UK.
Access: On first use you will need to register and accept the licence conditions.
Digimap AgCensus This link opens in a new window Description of this database.
New
Digimap Geomni This link opens in a new window Description of this database.
New
Staff and students at the University of Exeter now have access to Gale Reference Complete This link opens in a new window Description of this database.
Gale Reference Complete is an extensive package of primary and secondary sources, and is made up of three components:
Search across millions of journal articles. View newspaper articles from major regional, national and local newspapers. Search across all resources or access each separately: Gale Academic OneFile, Gale General OneFile and Gale OneFile: News
Over 350 archival collections containing scans of monographs and manuscripts from their source libraries. Topics include African American Studies, American Indian Studies, Asian Studies, British history, Holocaust studies, LGBT studies, Latin America and Caribbean studies, Middle East studies, political science, religious studies, and Women’s studies. View the collections here: Archives Unbound
Access criticism and reviews, literary works including poems, short stories, speeches and plays, and biographical information on writers from all around the world, from different time periods and disciplines. Search across all of the literature resources or access each separately: Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Something About the Author Online and Contemporary Authors Online
If you need any help using Gale Reference Complete, please contact your Liaison Librarian.
The University has a wide range of online primary sources available, many of which can add an additional dimension to your social and cultural geography research.
The Adam Matthew Research Collection provides access to resources from gender, identity and social change to the culture of global trade.
The 2021 ProQuest Research Collection provides access to resources exploring women, gender and cultural change.
The Primary Sources LibGuide provides an overview of the extensive range of online primary sources available through the library.
Quick Links
- Access Adam Matthew Research Collection
- Access 2021 ProQuest Research Collection
- Access Primary Sources LibGuide
The University has a wide range of online newspaper sources available, providing current and archive content from a wide range of countries.
You can access these news sources to examine coverage of topical events, but also do historical research through the newspaper archives. These resources can be particularly useful at dissertation time for those studying social and cultural geography, as they can reveal thinking at the time on topical issues of the day.
Explore the News LibGuide for lots of guidance on online news searching!
Following user feedback a new version of Digimap which combines both mapping and data download functions in a single interface is now available.
The new interface will be very familiar since it is almost identical to Roam. You will find the Data Download function as an additional tab in the panel on the left-hand side. The functions operate as previously, with a few very minor additional shortcuts.
Both the Roam and Data Download independent applications will be withdrawn completely at the end of July 2023.