Skip to main content

Maps: Free online map resources

A quick guide to introduce you to using map resources.

This page contains links to web-based collections of maps resources that are freely available.

Please note that this is by no means a comprehensive list. 

British Library Interactive Mapping on the Web

Comprising interactive web map collections.

British Library Scanned Maps Collections Online

Comprising collections of static, scanned-in images viewable online.

National Library of Scotland: Maps of Scotland    

Historical, OS & Bartholomew maps of Scotland mainly 1560-1928

Loading ...

UK resources

This website provides a window into the Great Britain Historical 'Geographical Information System', showing a description of Britain and its localities and how they have changed through the centuries.

The Gough Map is internationally-renowned as one of the earliest maps to show Britain in a geographically-recognizable form. Yet to date, questions remain of how the map was made, who made it, when and why.

This website presents an interactive and searchable edition of the Gough Map, together with contextual material, a blog, and information about the project and the Language of Maps colloquium.

In 1996 Francis Bennett and Kit Batten published their first book about the maps of Devon and listed all known maps printed between 1575 and 1837 showing the county of Devon on either one or two sheets. This site is the internet version of the revised Second Edition of The Printed Maps of Devon.

This website allows you to search a wide body of digital resources including maps relating to early modern and eighteenth-century London.

As well as presenting key facts on Scotland's soils, their functions and the pressures they face, the website includes interactive maps and datasets which you can download for use in your own spread sheets or analysis software these are free of charge for non-commercial users.

Loading ...

World resources

World Digital Library  provides a range of resources including topography and map materials from around the world.

Old Maps Online is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world.

Offers digital access to the material house in the David Rumsey Map Center at Stanford University Library.

The Perry-Castaeda Library Map Collection, from the University of Texas at Austin, contains maps from all over the world including Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Africa and the United States.

Trove is a free search service containing many online resources relating to Australia and Australians.

Loading ...
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us