Use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.
Isobel Eddyshaw
&
Sarah Jones
Izzy and Sarah can support you to develop skills in literature searching and evaluating information. Book an appointment for 1:1 support.
The Code for nurses and midwives is an important processional standards document produced by the Nursing and Midwifery Council. It is accessible on the NMC website.
Professional Bodies:
Health organizations:
Library Search will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.
For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.
There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your study and research. Key resources are highlighted in the adjacent tabs.
Explore the how to find resources guide as a starting point.
Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc that match your search criteria. They help you to find information about previous publications in your research field.
Find out more at
This video introduces a range of evidence-based resources from NICE including NICE Guidelines, the BNF and BNFC.
You are likely to use the CINAHL database to help you identify nursing literature. Watch the video below to learn how to search this resource and save the articles you find.
We now have full access to all of the content on Oxford Medicine online. You can access all of the Oxford Medical Handbooks online using your university login.
Collections:
You can use the following services to explore research materials available elsewhere
COPAC - exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of c.90 major UK and Irish libraries.
WorldCAT - search the collections of libraries in your community and tens of thousands more around the world.
SUNCAT - is the Serials Union Catalogue for the UK research community, a free tool to help researchers and librarians locate serials held in the UK.
The European Library - access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
The Library of Congress - catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections in the USA.
LibWeb - Access to a listing of online library catalogues worldwide
CORE - gives an incredibly fast search of the full-text of 80M open access research resources
It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.
Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc.
Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of study skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.
Linking the University of Exeter Library to Google Scholar
Google Scholar is an online, freely accessible search engine for locating scholarly literature from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. But not all full text content is free to access.
However, it is possible to link the University of Exeter online library to Google Scholar, making it quick to identify and access library full text content.
Just follow these instructions:
Click on Check for this @ Exeter or Access this @ Exeter options to view full text article:
Find out more here: Making the most of Google Scholar
To access Anatomy resources, go to the A-Z Database listing.
You can search for the resources below by title or by selecting Anatomy as the subject type.
You can access:
Tortora's principles of anatomy & physiology by There are also free online training materials such as Practical Clinical Skills. This offers Simulation-based lessons cover heart sounds, murmurs, lung sounds, carotid bruit, blood pressure measurement and EKG training.
BNF Publications reflect current best practice as well as legal and professional guidelines relating to the uses of medicines. Content includes:
These resources can be used to find more detailed information, guidance and advice on the use of drugs and pharmaceuticals.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
