Skip to main content

Nursing: Home

Subject Guide - help and guidance on finding resources in your subject area

   Welcome to the Nursing LibGuide

   Use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.

New to the University?  Explore the Library Induction to learn all about the Library basics. 

Where to start your search

Library Search

Search for textbooks, ebooks, journals, articles + more.  Use Library Search LibGuide for guidance.

For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Expand your searching

There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your  study and research.  Key resources are highlighted in the adjacent tabs.

Explore the how to find resources guide as a starting point.

If you would like to search smarter, try this health literature search strategy builder. It's takes you through the process step by step and is a good place to start if you are new to searching or need a refresher!

Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings,  reports etc that match your search criteria. They help you to find information about previous publications in your research field.

These are the key Nursing databases we recommend that you use.

 

Find out more at

  • British Nursing Database Libguide
  • Cinhal basic searching tutorial 
  • MedLine (PubMed) smart searching guide
For some of the databases you search you may need to understand what MeSH terms are. This guide provides an introduction to medicine subject headings and how they are used in medical databases.

There are a number of health databases that use the Ovid platform (including EMBASE, Global Health and PsycINFO).

Watch the Ovid search tutorial to get to know the platform.

Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.

 

You can use the following services to explore research materials available elsewhere
 

  • COPAC - exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of c.90 major UK and Irish libraries.

  • WorldCAT - search the collections of libraries in your community and tens of thousands more around the world.  

  • SUNCAT - is the Serials Union Catalogue for the UK research community, a free tool to help researchers and librarians locate serials held in the UK.

  • The European Library - access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.

  • The Library of Congress -  catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections in the USA.

  • LibWeb - Access to a listing of online library catalogues worldwide

  • CORE - gives an incredibly fast search of the full-text of 80M open access research resources

Loading ...

Online tutorials

Loading ...

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc. 

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

  • It is  easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.  
  • Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information. 

 

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations.  Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

 

You may like to take a look at:

Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.

Academic Skills Support

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. 

It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

Loading ...

I'm looking for ...

  To access Anatomy resources, go to the A-Z Database listing.

  You can search for the resources below by title or by selecting Anatomy as the subject type.

You can access:

There are also free online training materials such as Practical Clinical Skills. This offers Simulation-based lessons cover heart sounds, murmurs, lung sounds, carotid bruit, blood pressure measurement and EKG training.

BNF Publications reflect current best practice as well as legal and professional guidelines relating to the uses of medicines. Content includes:

  • Guidance on the drug management of common conditions
  • Details of medicines with special reference to their uses, cautions, contra-indications, side-effects, doses, and relative costs
  • Guidance on prescribing, monitoring, dispensing, and administering medicines.
Guidance & Advice Services

These resources can be used to find more detailed information, guidance and advice on the use of drugs and pharmaceuticals.

Drug Calculation Learning Tools
  • Drug Safety Update Published monthly, this bulletin highlights current areas of concern.
  • The King's Fund is an independent charity which helps to shape health policy and practice in England through research and analysis. Topics include Governance & Regulation; Leadership & Management and Productivity & Finance.
  • Health Foundation is an independent charity committed to bringing about better health and health care for people in the UK.
  • The Nuffield Trust is an independent health charity who aim to improve the quality of health care in the UK by providing evidence-based research and policy analysis and informing and generating debate.
  • Public Health Profiles provides access to a wide range of health and health related data. Data is organised under profiles such as determinants of health; public health outcomes; child and maternal health etc.
Loading ...
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us