Use this guide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.
Use this Search for digital / online materials (and print materials at Streatham).
For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.
Use this Search for print and A/V material at Penryn Campus Library
Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc that match your search criteria. They help you to find information about previous publications in your research field.
The SCOPUS Quick Reference Guide will introduce you to the database.
Use the Web of Science LibGuide for comprehensive support and training.
You can use the databases A-Z list to explore other resources of relevance to Mining and Mineral Engineering. You can browse by subject Mining and Mineral Engineering or search to find your required resource.
British Standards Online (BSOL) is the online standards database that makes using standards easier and more cost-effective. You can access a comprehensive library of over internationally recognised standards. It’s available 24/7 and revised every single day so you’ll always be up to date on the latest industry best practice.
You can find out more about Standards in general from the Standards LibGuide.
In addition to British Standards, you can also access ASTM, ISO, CEN, CENELEC and IEC on BSOL.
Use the Search Techniques LibGuides for lots of hints and tips on successful online searching
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.