Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law: Books

Quick online guidance on print and electronic law books

The University has access to thousands of ebooks from legal publishers such as Oxford, Hart, Cambridge and Bloomsbury - to name just a few!  These individual titles are available via Library Search with a link to the full text.

However some books, particularly non textbook material such as specialised practitioner works and reference works are only accessible via the specialist legal databases.  These materials will not always appear via Library Search so be prepared to use Library Search and the Law Databases to discover all the information that is available to you.

You may also want to use the legal databases to access ebooks so that you can take advantage of related and linked materials that are presented via the databases.  For example, if you are using an ebook on Lexis or Westlaw you will be linked through to cited legislation, case law and journal articles.

Use the Law Databases in the Databases A-Z List to access content.


Law Databases with ebooks across multiple law subject areas
 

Westlaw has online versions of the White Book (Civil procedure) and Archbold : Criminal pleading, evidence and practice; also multiple looseleaf encyclopedias  such as Current sentencing practice, Palmer’s Company law and Woodfall: Landlord and tenant; and the full collection of volumes from Sweet and Maxwell’s Common Law Library including Chitty on Contracts and Clerk and Lindsell on Torts.

Use the Westlaw guide for support and guidance

Examples include; Halsbury's Laws of England, Harvey on Industrial Relations and Employment Law, Hill and Redman's Law of Landlord and Tenant,, various family law publications, plus many more.

Use the Lexis guide for support and guidance


Subject Specific Law Databases with ebook content
 

Titles include: International Commercial Mediation, Law of Insurance Contracts, Bills of Lading, plus many more

Use the i-law.com guide for support and guidance

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us