Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film Studies: effective library research for dissertations: Screen Studies Collection

Online support to assist with planning and conducting your library dissertation research

Screen Studies Collection

This is the key resource for Film Studies. It contains publications relating to film history, theory and criticism.

The collection includes the following databases:

AFI Catalog covering the history of American cinema from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Every film produced on American soil or by American production companies is indexed from the birth of cinema to the present day. 

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Databasecoverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. This database contains FIAF's “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world, a selection of Reference volumes and the linked full-text of over 60 journals.

Film Index Internationalentertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute, from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters . Film Index International indexes films from over 170 countries. 

Visit the comprehensive online guide created by Proquest for further help: http://proquest.libguides.com/screenstudiescollection

Contact Us