Databases provide access to scholarly research, including journal articles, conference proceedings and books. They also provide access to specific types of materials such as maps, film, news, official papers, standards etc.
A wide range of databases are available to you at the University and are accessible 24/7 with your university login.
Below, you can find out more about the core databases relevant to your subject area. Use the full A--Z database list to access all available databases.
Depending on your research topic, you may need to explore databases from other subject areas in order to access the full breadth of information available to you.
What is a database? 
Research databases enable you to see what has been published in the area you are researching. They contain detailed records of thousands of journal articles, book references and conference proceedings. These records usually include the article title, authors, abstract (a brief summary), keywords (to enable your search to find it) and more.
Why should I use a database?
There are many different databases. Their interfaces will all vary, and they may use different terminology.
However, they all have similar features. Once you are familiar with these, you'll be able to find your way around different databases. You can see the main features in the examples below.
This is what a standard database interface looks like:
Once you click the Search button, the results page appears:
It is important to note:
So, when searching databases, be prepared for an extra step.
After finding a relevant article or book you need to check whether you have access to that item, either in print or in full-text online. Many of the databases will have a Check for this at Exeter button; clicking on this link will check whether we have access to the item.
In some cases, material you want to consult may not be available to you at Exeter.
You will be using vast literature databases which feature many millions of resources from around the world. There are a number of options that may be of assistance to connect you with the information you need.
This service can be used to request books/journal articles from other libraries.
Student Book Suggestion Scheme
Students can make book suggestions to the Library. Submit requests online and they will be reviewed by the library. If the book is unlikely to be used by others after your dissertation work, then you may be directed to the Document Delivery scheme instead, for short term access to material.
Use this service to search across the book and journal collections of the UK research and specialist libraries.
You can search to see if copies of books/journals are available in other libraries that you could visit whilst at home over the vacation, or by a special trip. Always check the access requirements before you travel, if you wish to visit another library. Find out more about visiting other libraries.
All databases are available via the A-Z Databases List
Each entry in the A-Z database list has an information icon. Hover over that symbol for information about the content that is available in the database and an idea of why it might be useful for research purposes.
Shown below is the information for the Crime, Punishment and {Popular Culture onilne archive which outlines the included content.
You can scroll through the A-Z and choose a database if you know exactly what you are looking for.
Select databases by Subject
You can select your subject from the drop down subject menu to see a subset of resources in that category.
The subject listings will highlight the 'core resources'; these are key databases that are likely to be of interest to anyone studying and researching in that area.
Your Subject LibGuide will also highlight recommended databases for you to explore
Select databases by Type
You can select a database type from All Databases Types drop down menu and view a subset of resources in that category.
For example, you may want to focus on images, news or official publications databases, etc.
You can browse the Criminology & Criminal Justice books or search across the full Law Trove Collection for material on relevant topics.
SAGE is a key publisher of criminology and criminal justice literature. You can browse or search to find material on your chosen topics
Web of Science is a large multidisciplinary research database covering all subject areas.
You can use it to discover the global literature on a wide range of topics. It is not a full text database, but you can use it to discover published material and follow links through to discover the full text available on other services. For in depth guidance explore the Web of Science learning site, YouTube Videos or the Web of Science LibGuide.
IBSS and ASSIA are academic research databases on the ProQuest platform (sharing the same interface and features). They are both multidisciplinary resources, offering peer-reviewed academic articles and other research materials from across the social sciences including anthropology, ethnology, ethnography and cultural studies.
ASSIA can also be searched as part of the Proquest Sociology collection.
Use the IBSS , ASSIA or the Sociology Collection Libguides for comprehensive support and training.
As they all share the same search interface, you will soon become familiar with searching and working with your search results.
Use the Search and Filtering demos on the next tabs for support.
This collection Covers literature concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
This databases is available via the EBSCO Host platform. Use the video demonstration to learn more about searching effectively on the EBSCO search platform.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. It is a vast online research methods library.
It is targeted at social science researchers, and covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Use the SAGE research methods LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.
You can use the Doing Research Online module to learn to design and conduct online and digital research with videos, case studies, practice data and how-to guides.
This multimedia collection has been designed to support novice or experienced social science researchers who are conducting research online. Whether conducting their first or their hundredth study online, users will find support to employ a variety of digital methods from online surveys, interviews to digital ethnography, social media, and text analysis, as well as learn how to manage, store and archive digital data. Privacy and other ethical considerations specific to conducting research online are also covered. Researchers will also get support with how to navigate the challenges of being supervised online.
Content & Features:
The module will be updated annually with new content to attend to the ever-evolving needs of researchers and to bring them the latest in methodology for online research.
