Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: Psychological therapies literature searching: 4. Where to search

This tutorial will guide you through searching library resources to find evidence based psychological therapies literature.

Library Search is a good starting point for introductory material, and to search for known items to see if the library provides access.

For example you can check if we have electronic access to a book or journal. This is useful as some sources only include short bibliographic details with an abstract, therefore, you will need to locate the full text.  

Research databases allow you to tailor your search more precisely using all the sophisticated functionality available within them. You can can select your subject from the drop down subject menu in the A-Z Database listing to see a subset of resources in that category.

The subject listings will highlight the 'core resources'; these are key databases that are likely to be of interest to anyone studying and researching in that area.

Each entry in the A-Z database list has an information icon. Hover over that symbol for information about the content that is available in the database and an idea of why it might be useful for research purposes. Shown below is the information for APA PsycInfo, which is a valuable psychology research database.

Contact Us