Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: Psychological therapies literature searching: 5. Library Search

This tutorial will guide you through searching library resources to find evidence based psychological therapies literature.

Library Search

Search for print books, ebooks, journals, articles + more.  Use Library Search LibGuide for guidance.

For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

A search for psychology research methods  in Library Search returns the following catalogue results. Note the type of content. There is a mixture of print and electronic texts. Use the online filter to limit your search to resources available electronically.

This search finds matches in book and journal titles (and in brief details such as subject terms). To search within the content of books and journals you should use the Articles + more feature of Library Search and the research databases.

You will find many results on the Articles + more tab than the Catalogue tab if you were to run the same  search.

In addition to all the content in the Catalogue tab, there is also a wide range of content from various full text resources, with journal articles, book chapters and other full text resources that match your search terms.

However, this does not include all the material available to you via the databases. To complete a comprehensive search you will need to search within psychology specific databases via the A-Z database listing. 

You can also use Library Search to check on the availability of print and online journal titles.

As you begin searching the research databases you may find references to particular journal articles that look interesting.  Some databases only include short bibliographic details of articles with an abstract.  If you want to read the full text you can use Library Search to discover if you have full text access.

To search for journal titles, just enter some/all of the journal title into the library Search box and then browse the Catalogue tab to check for access.

A search for Clinical psychology and psychotherapy returns the following catalogue results. You can browse through the list and click on the titles for access.

In this example for the Clinical psychology and psychotherapy you can see that there is:

  • current access via Wiley Online Library
  • archive access via Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

You will often find that journal coverage is split across journal and archive services.

IAPT resources

  • IAPT resources from CEDAR can be found here.
  • IAPT Information from NHS England can be found here.
  • Psychological therapies information from the Devon Partnership NHS Trust can be found here.

Contact Us