Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching Sustainability

The Library Search services will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.

Library Search

Search for print and online books, journals, articles + moreLibrary Search LibGuide available for guidance.

computer generated representation of person typing info into a computer
Penryn Library Search

Search the print and streaming media collections that you have access to at Penryn campus.

Use a range of search terms to find materials on the topic you are researching.  Here are some illustrative searches:

"climate change" AND sustainability / "organic farming" AND sustainability / "green business" AND recyc* 

For support on developing and combining search terms for effective online searching, take a look at the search techniques guidance.

Spending a little time thinking about your topic and mind mapping out some search terms can be a helpful way to start.

Watch this short video for a guided look at topic searching using Library Search

Library Search is a useful way to start your research when you are exploring a new subject.  You will need to use the online databases for more complex and comprehensive databases.

 

Library Search is a good starting point. 

You can search for your research topic(s) and quickly and easily retrieve details of print and electronic books, journal articles and other full text material.   

You can also use it to check whether we have particular books or journals you may discover during your literature searching.

To research the global literature on a topic, and go beyond quick full text results, then you should follow up with a database search. 

You can tailor your search more precisely using all the sophisticated functionality available on the research databases.  

You will also need to use the databases to search for different sorts of information like news, statistics, official publications etc. as Library Search primarily covers books, chapters and journal articles.

Use the Searching for specific types of information LibGuide for support.

Screenshot of Type of Information LibGuide

Contact Us or Give Feedback