Welcome to the Clinical Education Subject Guide
Use this guide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.
Library Search will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.
For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.
There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your study and research. Key resources are highlighted in the adjacent tabs.
Explore the how to find resources guide as a starting point.
Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.You can browse by subject (eg. Medicine or Education), or use the Database Title/Keyword search box to find your required resource.
Some key databases for Education include:
Key databases for medicine include:
Useful multidisciplinary databases include:
You can find and access journal articles:
Most of our journal articles are available online; however, a small collection of print journals are also available in our libraries.
Find out more about finding and using journals on our Journals and Journal Articles Library Guide.
Some useful journals for Clinical Education may include:
If you are looking for public health policies or guidelines don't forget to visit the Department of Health or NICE websites.
For policy documents such as white papers, working papers, government guidance, think tank policy briefs and national clinical guidelines, the database Overton is a great resource.
The Nuffield Trust is an independent health charity who aim to improve the quality of health care in the UK by providing evidence-based research and policy analysis and informing and generating debate.
The term grey literature is used to describe a wide range of different information that is produced outside of traditional publishing and distribution channels, and which is often not well represented in indexing databases. It may include clinical trials, conference papers, theses, datasets, policy statements and more. Grey literature can be a very important research resource, and you will likely need to engage with it in your studies.
Find out more about how to access, locate, and effectively use grey literature on the Grey Literature Library guide.
If you are looking for health statistics, take a look at the guide to UK Health
For general guidance on finding statistics use the Statistics LibGuide.
For guidance on finding and using research datasets, take a look at the Research Datasets LibGuide.
It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.
Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc.
Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.
Research question frameworks (sometimes called search frameworks) help you create a structured question from your research topic of interest. They are particularly useful in helping you focus your topic of interest to help you find a manageable number of relevant search results as part of a structured review of the literature.
PICO Model
Defining a clinical question in terms of the specific patient problem aids the searcher in finding clinically relevant evidence in the literature. In this context, the PICO Model is a commonly-used format to help define your question.
PEO Model
The PEO framework is useful for building research questions that have a qualitative focus.
|
P |
Population and their problems
|
|
E |
Exposure
|
|
O |
Outcomes or themes
|
Find out more about PICO, PEO and other research question frameworks, on the Forming answerable search questions using frameworks Library Guide.
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone.
Academic Skills: Skills for Referencing online support
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Many databases have a thesaurus or controlled vocabulary such as MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), including APA PyscInfo, Medline and the British Education Index. They list standardized subject headings used by database indexers to describe what a source (article, book or conference paper) is about, enabling citations to be organized and found by users. Each source within a database is designated a subject heading according to the subject(s) it covers. Therefore, when selecting a subject heading you will retrieve all records for which that subject has been designated. Use subject headings in combination with your own keywords in order to ensure that you find all of the relevant available evidence.
The ability to critical appraise the resources you use as part of your studies is a key skill for health professionals.
Find out more on the Critical Appraisal LibGuide.
Reflective practice is increasingly being considered as a critical dimension of professional development for health professionals.
Find out more on the Reflective Practice for Health Professionals LibGuide.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.
There are lots of different types of literature review which you may come across during your studies, including systematic reviews, scoping reviews, and state-of-the-art reviews.
Read this article for an overview of a number of possible review types:
Systematic and Scoping reviews
For guidance on conducting systematic reviews and scoping reviews, have a look at the following libguides:
Further reading
Doing a literature review in health and social care: a practical guide by 
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
