LibGuides: Climate and Ecological Emergency: Resources

In May 2019, the University declared an environment and climate emergency. As part of its response, the University Library decided to create this Climate Emergency LibGuide in order to highlight useful research resources in the area.

This guide is very much a work in progress and we look forward to working with the University community to develop it into a useful resource for all who are interested in climate and environment issues.

If you would like to suggest books for this collection, please use this Book Suggestion Form

Browse more resources on climate emergency topics via our Climate and Ecological Emergency reading List

Finding Resources Using Library Search

Library Search

Search across the print and online collections for books, chapters, articles, journals and lots more.

Library Search will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.

For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Databases for Climate Research

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
This is a full text database providing research literature focused on environmental sciences including climate change, renewable energy and urban planning.

SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
This is a multidisciplinary research database providing scholarly literature across the life sciences, medicine, social sciences and humanities, allowing the exploration of different themes in climate change research.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This is a multidisciplinary research database providing scholarly literature across the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, allowing the exploration of different themes in climate change research.

Media reporting of Climate Change

CarbonBrief's analysis of the climate papers most featured in the media in 2023:

You can see how this has changed over the past few years by viewing previous analyses:

Discover climate research produced by University of Exeter staff and students

Useful Links

University of Exeter Research

University of Exeter - Environment and Climate Emergency Working Group White Paper
An Independent Review commissioned by the Vice Chancellor’s Executive Group.
Global Systems Institute
We are uniting a trans-disciplinary group of researchers, educators and partners to look beyond single ‘environmental’ issues to a truly systemic view of coupled global changes in the human social and economic sphere and the biosphere.
Carbon Footprint Calculator
Earth Hour

Related LibGuides

Global and planetary health
by Isobel Eddyshaw (Exeter) Last Updated Aug 23, 2024 267 views this year
Researching Sustainability
by Natasha Bayliss (Exeter) Last Updated Oct 16, 2024 1029 views this year
Environmental Law Research Guide
by Lee Snook (Exeter) Last Updated Oct 16, 2024 51 views this year

Climate MOOCs

FutureLearn MOOCs developed by University of Exeter

MOOC stands for ‘massive open online course’, i.e. free, easily accessible, online courses open to all.

Climate Change: the Science
Learn about the science of climate change, the risks it poses and how human activity is changing our world.
Climate Change: Solutions
Explore the potential solutions to climate change and how they relate to the UN's sustainable development goals.

If you've used any other useful MOOCs to learn about climate change, let us know via the feedback form.

Research Resources in our Archives and Special Collections

Climate change has risen up the agenda in recent decades. Find out more about the primary sources within our archive collections which touch on this theme.

Archives relating to Climate Change and Environmental Issues