Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law: Environmental Law: Finding resources

Environmental Law Resources

This guide provides guidance on searching for materials to support your environmental law study and research. 

Further support and guidance on finding legal materials  is available on the Law Subject Guide  

You may also need to look at other subject guides for certain areas of research, such as Biosciences, Criminology or Environmental Studies. 
 

If you come across a useful book on environmental law and would like to recommend it to the Library, you can use the Student Book Suggestion Scheme

Online Tutorial

Want to learn more? Click to try our online tutorial on Evaluating Information Sources.

Dissertation Research

For advice and support on planning your online search strategy for dissertations and research projects, click to try our  online tutorial on Effective library research.

Finding Resources using Library Search

Exeter Library Search

Search for textbooks, ebooks, journals, articles + more. Library Search LibGuide available for guidance.


Library Search is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources. Herea re some broad illustrative searches

climate justice / water quality legislation / marine environmental law / environmental crime / environment and human rights

For support on developing and combining search terms for effective online searching, take a look at the search techniques guidance.

Key databases for environmental law research

You are likely to use a range of law and non law research databases in order to source information for your environmental law studies.  Key resources are highlighted here, but do explore the full A-Z  Database List to discover all the resources that are available to you.  

Go to A-Z List

Law Databases  - Find out more about legal databases on the Law Database Guide

Non Law Databases

It is worth looking at ....

Environment is one of the Subject Topics available from the Westlaw UK home page.  

From that area you can view the latest legal developments and also access relevant books, journals, law reports and legislation.

Here is an indication of the content.  Login and navigate to the Environment Topic to explore it further.

About Practical Law

Practical Law is an online legal know-how service which provides practice area overviews, practice notes, standard documents and current awareness services.

It works hand in hand with Westlaw UK, allowing you to combine its expert legal know-how resources with the primary law resources from Westlaw UK.

You can search and/or browse the practice areas to find relevant resources.    The screenshot below gives you an idea of the content that is available to you in the Environment practice area.  A huge amount of information is available there, including audiovisual materials from practitioners in the field.

 

Select Environment from the Practice Areas drop down menu at the top of the Lexis Library homepage.

From there you can search or browse for relevant information such as Garner's Environmental Law

Here is an indication of the content.  

 

About Lexis PSL

Lexis PSL provides access to practice notes, precedents, forms, drafting notes, checklists, flowcharts, client-ready materials and the latest legal developments, arranged by topic. This online legal know-how services complements the materials available via the Lexis Library service.

An Environment topic area is available.  The screenshot belows shows indicative content.  Login to the database to explore this area further.

 

Find out more about ...

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us