Skip to main content

Clinical Pharmacy: Home

Subject Guide - help and guidance on finding resources in your subject area

 Welcome to the Clinical Pharmacy LibGuide

Use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.

New to the University?  Explore the Library Induction to learn all about the Library basics. 

Where to start your search

Library Search

Search for textbooks, ebooks, journals, articles + more.  Use Library Search LibGuide for guidance.

For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Expand your searching

There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your  study and research.  Key resources are highlighted in the adjacent tabs.

Explore the how to find resources guide as a starting point.

These are core bibliographical tools for finding journal articles, professional literature and book chapters for pharmacological research.

 

 

Find out more at

  • EMBASE uses the Ovid platform watch the search tutorial
  • Web of Science LibGuide for comprehensive support and training
  • MedLine (PubMed) smart searching guide
Use the A-Z databases List to access all the resources available to you.
 

BNF Publications reflect current best practice as well as legal and professional guidelines relating to the uses of medicines. Content includes:

  • Guidance on the drug management of common conditions
  • Details of medicines with special reference to their uses, cautions, contra-indications, side-effects, doses, and relative costs
  • Guidance on prescribing, monitoring, dispensing, and administering medicines.

You can use the following catalogues to search for material held at other libraries:

  • Library Hub Discover - search and locate books and journals throughout the collections of the UK research and specialist libraries.
  • WorldCAT - lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and tens of thousands more around the world.  It also has a mobile app you can download.
  • The European Library - gives access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.

  • The Library of Congress - contains the catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections in the USA.
  • LibWeb - Access to a listing of online library catalogues worldwide
  • CORE - gives an incredibly fast search of the full-text of 80M open access research resources

Access finding and using evidence tutorial

Loading ...

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc. 

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

  • It is  easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.  
  • Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information. 

 

PICO Model

Defining a clinical question in terms of the specific patient problem aids the searcher in finding clinically relevant evidence in the literature.  The PICO Model is a format to help define your question.You may be asked to use this approach for clinical queries.

Find out more on the PICO LibGuide.

MeSH terms

For some of the databases you search you may need to understand what MeSH terms are. This guide provides an introduction to medicine subject headings and how they are used in medical databases.

If you would like to search smarter, try this health literature search strategy builder.

It's takes you through the process step by step and is a good place to start if you are new to searching or need a refresher!

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations.  Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

 

You may like to take a look at:

Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.

Academic Skills Support

Loading ...

I'm looking for...

There are a range of clinical skills videos and online learning material available to you. These can be accessed here. You will need to login in using your Exeter IT username and password to access these resources.

There are also free online training materials such as Practical Clinical Skills. This offers Simulation-based lessons cover heart sounds, murmurs, lung sounds, carotid bruit, blood pressure measurement and EKG training.

 If you are looking for public health policies or guidelines don't forget to visit the Department of Health or NICE websites.

 If you are looking for health statistics take a look at the guide to UK Health and Health care statistics.

For general guidance on finding statistics use the Statistics LibGuide.

 

The UN Global Issues Website offers in depth analysis of a variety of topics including ageing and health issues.

 

During your studies you may need to find, use or run Systematic Reviews or search for grey literature. Use the LibGuides to find out more.

 

If you need to undertake a systematic review use Cochrane Interactive Learning to develop the critical skills required.
Loading ...

I'm looking for resources on...

BMJ Best Practice is a clinical point of care tool designed to support you to use evidence effectively in practice. You can look up evidence-based summaries of conditions, treatment pathways and patient information. This resource relies on stonger evidence, saving you the time of searching multiple sources for the best evidence. 

  • Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

The ability to critical appraise the resources you use as part of your studies ia a key skill for health professionals.

Find out more on the Critical Appraisal LibGuide.

  To access Anatomy resources, go to the A-Z Database listing.

  You can search for the resources below by title or by selecting Anatomy as the subject type.

  You can access:

Reflective practice is increasingly being considered as a critical dimension of professional development for health professionals.

Find out more on the Reflective Practice for Health Professionals LibGuide.

Loading ...
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us