Skip to main content

Computer Science: Online Library Support

Subject Guide - help and guidance on finding resources in your subject area


      Welcome to the Computer Science LibGuide

 

New to the University?  Explore the Library Induction to learn all about the Library basics. 

Need help? We're here for you!

Exeter students:

Exeter Campus libraries are closed. The Library is running an online service.

"I am working from home and am available to help with your questions or queries" - Nicola Nye (Nicki). 

For general Library enquiries email Library@Exeter.ac.uk

For the latest Exeter campus library updates and FAQs, click here.

Cornwall students: The Penryn campus library is currently open.

Contact libhelp@fxplus.ac.uk for enquiries.

For the latest Penryn campus library updates click here.

Library Liaison Team @ Cornwall

Get in touch for help and advice on making the most of your library resources or book a 1:1 appointment with a Librarian

 

Your Library Champion


Your Library Champion is Bryony Edgell

Additional e-library collections available during coronavirus period

Some publishers have temporarily opened up their online collections to support students during this period. Library updates and a full list of new e-collections can be found here.  We expect this list to grow over the next few weeks so keep checking back.


Below are some databases that contain resources for your subject:


We are currently trialing Access Engineering, which includes computer science content. The trial ends on 15th May. If you have any comments about this collection, please email n.nye@exeter.ac.uk


SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics) have opened up part of their collection in response to the Coronavirus epidemic

Where to start your search

Library Search

Search for textbooks, ebooks, journals, articles and more. 

Library Search LibGuide available for guidance.

For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Key resources

There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your  study and research. 

Try the following resources for your computing related research.

Use the A-Z Database List to access the full list of databases the library subscribes to.  

You can browse by subject e.g. Computer Science or type (e.g.maps, news, images etc.) or search to find your required resource.

Explore the full A to Z Database list:

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is an extensive archive of free-to-air TV programmes and radio shows

  • Search the archive to find programmes relating to your subject
  • Record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels and add to the archive for others to view
  • Create your own clips and playlists

Explore research materials available elsewhere

  • Library Hub Discover - Search the catalogues of over 100 major UK and Irish national, academic and specialist libraries to find books, journals and other materials

  • WorldCAT - Search the collections of over 10,000 worldwide libraries  

  • The European Library - Access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.

  • The Library of Congress -  Catalogue records of the print and digital resources held in the Library of Congress collections (USA)

  • LibWeb - Find online library catalogues worldwide

  • CORE - Search the world's largest collection of open access research papers

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc. 

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

  • It is  easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.  
  • Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information. 

 

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations.  Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

 

You may like to take a look at:

Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.

Academic Skills Support

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. 

It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

IEEE Referencing Style - University of Exeter guide

ACM Referencing Style - University of Exeter guide

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us