LibGuides: Computer Science Subject Guide: Online Library Support

Library Essentials @ Exeter

Your Librarian - Exeter

Email Me

Subjects: Accountancy, Business, Computer Science, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing, Mathematics, Sustainability

Library Liaison Team @ Cornwall

Get in touch for help and advice on making the most of your library resources or book a 1:1 appointment with a Librarian.

Where to start your search

Library Search

Search across the print and online collections for books, chapters, articles, journals and lots more.

For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Key Computer Science resources

There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your study and research.

Try the following resources for your computing related research.

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Award-winning Engineering platform that includes full-text e-books, video demonstrations, interactive data tools and downloadable graphs and tables. Interdisciplinary content spans engineering, computer science and mathematics.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) publications and literature, with a bibliographic search. Content includes journals, transactions, conference proceedings, newsletters etc and spans from 1969 onwards.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
Pre-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. Use for early access to papers in these research areas.
Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
This collection provides coverage across a range of computer science topics from information systems, computer security, software design and development to web commerce.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text access to IEEE journals, conference proceedings and industry publications.
Supports literature searching across engineering and technology disciplines.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Research literature database with abstracts, covering the field of mathematics.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content, primarily covering science, technology, and medicine, but also including some social science and humanities subjects - notably, business & management, accounting, finance and economics.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
An Index to scholarly literature across the life sciences, medicine, social sciences and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic index to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching. NOTE: not all results will provide the full-text content. Use the "check for this at Exeter" option to find out if the Library provides access to the full text.

You can access the full list of databases the library subscribes to via the A-Z Database list.
You can browse by subject e.g. Computer Science or type (e.g.maps, news, images etc.) or search to find your required resource.

Explore the Computer Science databases in our collection.

IEEE TRansactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence
The IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence publishes articles on all traditional areas of computer vision and image understanding, all traditional areas of pattern analysis and recognition, and selected areas of machine intelligence, with a particular emphasis on machine learning for pattern analysis. Areas such as techniques for visual search, document and handwriting analysis, medical image analysis, video and image sequence analysis, content-based retrieval of image and video, face and gesture recognition and relevant specialized hardware and/or software architectures are also covered.
Journal of Machine Learning Research
The Journal of Machine Learning Research (JMLR) provides an international forum for the publication of high-quality scholarly articles in all areas of machine learning including:
new algorithms with empirical, theoretical, psychological, or biological justification; new insight into the design and behavior of learning in intelligent systems; applications of existing techniques that shed light on the strengths and weaknesses of the methods; formalization of new learning tasks (e.g., in the context of new applications) and of methods for assessing performance,;
development of new analytical frameworks that advance theoretical studies of practical learning methods;
and computational models of data from natural learning systems at the behavioral or neural level
Machine Learning
Machine Learning is an international forum for research on computational approaches to learning. The journal publishes articles reporting substantive results on a wide range of learning methods applied to a variety of learning problems.

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window An online service for off-air recording, media streaming and archiving of TV and radio programmes from all scheduled free to air broadcast channels. BoB provides a facility for recording, creating clips and playlists of programmes.

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is an extensive archive of free-to-air TV programmes and radio shows

Search the archive to find programmes relating to your subject
Record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels and add to the archive for others to view
Create your own clips and playlists

Kanopy films and documentaries covering Computer Science & Technology. Full content for University of Exeter.

Explore research materials available elsewhere

Library Hub Discover - Search the catalogues of over 100 major UK and Irish national, academic and specialist libraries to find books, journals and other materials.
WorldCAT - Search the collections of over 10,000 worldwide libraries.
The European Library - Access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
The Library of Congress - Catalogue records of the print and digital resources held in the Library of Congress collections (USA).
The British Library - You can search for records in the Library's collections and for content freely available online.
CORE - Search the world's largest collection of open access research papers
Kaggle - Inside Kaggle you’ll find all the code & data you need to do your data science work. Use over 50,000 public datasets and 400,000 public notebooks to conquer any analysis in no time.

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc.

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

It is easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.

Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information.

Use the Search Techniques LibGuides for lots of hints and tips on successful online searching

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

Library's Referencing LibGuide: includes guidance on referencing styles and referencing software

Cite Them Right This link opens in a new window
Use this online referencing tool to create citations and reference lists . Cite Them Right provides comprehensive practical tips and examples on a wide range of referencing styles.

Academic Skills: Skills for Referencing online support

Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of study skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.

Study Skills Support

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.

It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

Computer Science Subject Guide: Online Library Support

Welcome to the Computer Science Subject Guide