Skip to main content

Subject Guide: Education: Online library support

Subject Guide - help and guidance on finding resources in your subject area


Welcome to the Education LibGuide

New to the University?  Explore the Library Induction to learn all about the Library basics. 

Where to start your search

Library Search

Search for textbooks, ebooks, journals, articles + more.  Use Library Search LibGuide for guidance.

For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Expand Your Searching

Library Search is a good starting point for finding material on topic.  However, if you want to research the global literature on a topic, and go beyond quick full text results, then you should follow up with a database search. 

Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings,  reports etc that match your search criteria. They help you to find information about previous publications in your research field.

You can tailor your search more precisely using all the sophisticated functionality available on the research databases.   You can also target particular types of resources such as news sources, official publications, statistics etc.

Education Databases

The following databases will help you discover material related to education. You have access to further resources via the Education subject list area in the A-Z Databases list

These databases all use the EBSCO platform. This tutorial shows how to do an advanced search.

The following  are major multidisciplinary databases which will enable you to explore the published literature in education and related subject fields.

JSTOR 

JSTOR provides full text access to scholarly book, journal and primary sources via an easy to use search interface.

Use the How to Search JSTOR LibGuide for an introduction to the service or take a look at JSTOR's Vimeo channel for educational and instructional videos. 

JSTOR holds content relevant to Education as well as complementary disciplines cross the social sciences.

The following video shows you how to use ebooks on the JSTOR service.

Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.

You can browse by subject e.g. Education or type (e.g.maps, news, images etc.) or search to find your required resource.

Allied subjects include SociologyPsychology, and Politics.  You will also find LibGuides available for these and other subject disciplines.

TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas. You can explore TED Talks related to the topic of Education or popular talks from the TED homepage

You can use the following catalogues to search for material held at other libraries:

  • Library Hub Discover - search and locate books and journals throughout the collections of the UK research and specialist libraries.
  • WorldCAT - lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and tens of thousands more around the world.  It also has a mobile app you can download.
  • The European Library - gives access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.

  • The Library of Congress - contains the catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections in the USA.
  • LibWeb - Access to a listing of online library catalogues worldwide
  • CORE - gives an incredibly fast search of the full-text of 80M open access research resources

I am looking for ...

You are likely to use a wide range of different types of information sources for your education research.  Use the online support highlighted here to guide your searching

Our book collection includes both print and ebook formats. Increasingly, books are made available in ebook format. This gives the best access to materials, allowing 24/7 access to books from any location.  Where ebooks are not available, multiple print copies of key titles are  purchased.

Use the Library Search to search by topic to discover relevant content. 

Finding books on the shelves

The Forum Library print books are arranged in Dewey Decimal Classification order.  This means that books on similar topics are grouped together.  Find out more with our Classmarks  guide.  The majority of books on education related subjects will be found at number 370 in the library, for example:

Education Classmarks in the Forum Library
370 General education subjects
370.1 Education theory, philosophy, psychology
371 Schools, special education
372 Early years and primary education
373 Secondary education
374 Adult education 
375 Curricula
378 Higher Education
379 Public policy issues in education

However, education is a wide ranging discipline and you are likely to wish to consult materials from other areas such as Sociology and Psychology  Library Search will help you locate these materials

The vast majority of our journal articles are available in digital format, although we do keep older print journals in the Forum Library.

Our journal databases may offer full text access or abstracts only, or sometimes a mixture of both.

  • Full text access allows you to view or download the entire journal article from that database.
  • Abstract only access provides a summary of the content of a journal article and in many cases, links out to full-text sources held digitally in our collections.

Many of our databases fully index their content, by organising them under various subjects. This helps ensure that all potentially relevant articles are captured when searches are carried out.

Use Library Search to find Journal Titles and articles that relate to your research/study area.

For targeted searching, select a research database and explore the published literature in your field. Key databases are flagged above.

Reference resources such as almanacs, dictionaries, encyclopedias and thesauri enable you to:

  • examine facts and statistics about the world
  • decipher abbreviations and definitions
  • gain an overview of a topic                                     

They can be really useful resources as you begin your background research into a topic, before you move on to more in depth research via your Subject databases.

In many cases, these resources are now available in digital format, allowing you to easily and quickly access the information you need.

Find out more on the Online Reference Resources LibGuide.

  • News sources can be invaluable research resources. 
  • They provide contemporaneous accounts of events as they emerge and unfold, affording a snapshot of developments at a point in time.
  • You can engage in historical research by tracing commentary on issues over time, to identify and track changing political, economic and social trends. 
  • The availability of news resources online allows for very effective and comprehensive searching, in a way that was impossible with print or microfilm / microfiche editions of the newspapers 

Find out more on the News LibGuide 

Official publications can be broadly defined as the documents and materials produced by the government and governmental departments during the course of government business.

Content ranges from statements of law and policy to government reports and statistics.  These publications can be a valuable primary research source and are especially useful to those researching in law, politics and history.  However, they are of relevance across all subjects as they address all aspects of governmental work such as science, education, law, agriculture, transport, health etc.

To find out more about finding and using official publications, take a look at the Official Publications LibGuide

View the list of Official Publications databases in the Database A-Z List

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc. 

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

  • It is  easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.  
  • Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information. 

 

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations.  Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

 

You may like to take a look at:

Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.

Academic Skills Support

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. 

It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

Doctoral students workshop - Evaluating information sources

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us