Skip to Main Content

Marketing Subject Guide: Home

Welcome to the Marketing Subject Guide

Use this Subject LibGuide to make the most of the library and information resources and services.

 

Your Librarian - Exeter

Profile Photo
Jude Fleming

Calendar

Where to start your search

Library Search


Search across the print and online collections for books, chapters, articles, journals and lots more. 

For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Expand your searching - Recommended databases

These services provide market research, country, company and industry information.

With up-to-date industry profiles you can identify new developments and market drivers for a chosen a industry; find the main companies operating in the sector and their market share; discover trends, challenges and outside influences affecting the industry. Perfect for compiling SWOT or PESTEL analyses. 

There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace journal articles, conference papers, reports, theses and much more, to support your study and research.  

When looking for company information it is important to identify what type of information you need. Generally the information available falls into three categories:

1) Company documents (e.g. annual reports)

2) Company data (e.g. pre-tax profit)

3) Company analysis (e.g. a SWOT analysis compiled by independent researchers)

The Library has databases that provide access to each type of company information. For more information, visit our Finding Company Information tutorial.

Company Documents

Company Data

Company Analysis

Please note, most databases have their own built-in help and guidance, usually located in the top right hand corner.

Academic Research 

Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.

You can browse by subject (e.g. Finance) or type (e.g.Journals, News, Data etc.) or search to find your required resource.

I'm looking for...

You may like to see how issues are portrayed in the press. Explore the news LibGuide for information on the range of news sources available via the Library.

Key resources include:

  • Financial Times subscription
  • The Economist
  • Nexis UK - A large full text database providing current newspaper coverage from local, national and international titles.
  • Newspaper archives -  Extensive archives for a range of UK and international newspapers.

  • Statistical data can be found on a huge variety of subjects, for example the economy, employment, the environment, government, health, international trade, manufacturing, and population.

  • They can be a vital source of information for your studies.

Find out more on the Statistics LibGuide.

 

 

 

Case Studies can be found across a range of resources including in books, journals, professional magazines, databases, company websites and online.

 

View the Finding Case Studies page for additional information and recommended resources.

 

Access Harvard Business Review online (link opens in a new window)

Click on the image below to open PowerPoint with instructions.

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc. 

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

  • It is  easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.  
  • Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information. 

 

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations.  Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of study skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.

Study Skills Support

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. 

It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

Contact Us or Give Feedback