Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medicine subject guide: NHS Athens resources

Subject Guide - help and guidance on finding resources in your subject area

NHS Athens

Athens, or Open Athens, is a way of accessing online resources that the NHS has paid for. There are different types of accounts / access options depending upon eligibility criteria.

BMBS Years 1 and 2

If you are a first or second year studying on the BMBS programme, you are entitled to an NHS HEI Athens Login. This will allow you to access 'national' NHS online resources including the full-text of online journal articles, several dozen online books, and online databases. Please note this does not include the point of care tool UpToDate.

Please note that University of Exeter students already have access to most of these resources (and many more) via the University library; please visit the Library Search / Database A - Z to access these.

The resources you can access with your NHS Athens login are listed below. The items in bold are the only resources that you can't already get access to via the University library.

  • BMJ journals collection
  • Medicines Complete
  • EBSCO databases (including Health Business Elite)
  • JAMA network journals
  • MyiLibrary e-books
  • Proquest databases (including Proquest Hospital Collection)
  • Health Education England's e-Learning for Healthcare online training modules

BMBS students can be sent login and password details via an email to their University account.

This is completely different to your University login and password which gives you access to the University's own collection of online medical resources.

Please contact library@exeter.ac.uk for more information.

BMBS Years 3-5 (NHS OpenAthens account)

In years 3 to 5 you are entitled to a full NHS OpenAthens login while on placement, which means you can access both the 'national' resources (as above) and the 'regional' and  'local' resources purchased by the NHS Trust that you are on placement with. For more information speak to library staff at your placement library re: registering by contacting the relevant NHS Library

If you already know your NHS OpenAthens username and password and want to log in, go to https://openathens.nice.org.uk/Auth/Login

Forgotten your login details?

If you have lost or forgotten your NHS Athens username and password then  click here.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us