LibGuides: Medicine subject guide: Home

Library Essentials @ Exeter

Email: library@exeter.ac.uk

Exeter Library support

Amy McEwan

She/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Anatomy, Medical Sciences, Medicine, Neuroscience

Cornwall Library support

Viki Clitheroe (Cornwall)

Email Me

Where to start your search

Library Search

Library Search will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.

For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Resources spotlight

Henry Stewart Talks: Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection

Lecture, Seminar and Case study talks focusing on the latest research and developments in biomedical and life sciences.

Oxford Medical Handbooks

Digital platform hosting Oxford University Press' medical handbooks.

Using the Cochrane Library and NICE resources - Medicine [online tutorial]

Online tutorial - develop skills in searching for evidence using NICE and the Cochrane Library. Useful for SSUs and clinical placements.

Key resources

A quick start guide to using PubMed can be found here. For tips and advice from the Library, see our guide to Medline (PubMed).

NICE This link opens in a new window NICE provide access to selected and authoritative evidence in health, social care and public health. Includes the BNF and BNFC and NICE Guidelines.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Search for evidence, protocols, trials and systematic reviews to inform healthcare decision making.
TRIP Pro This link opens in a new window Clinical database to support and inform evidence based healthcare decision making and patient care.
Medline (PubMed) This link opens in a new window PubMed is free to access and provides an alternative to searching Medline through Ovid (the database is the same, although search functionality is different).
BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window Evidence guidelines and medical opinion. For decision making by practitioners at the point of care.

Epistemonikos Quickly identify systematic reviews for decision making. This resource brings together details of systematic reviews indexed in a range of different research databases.

NICE This link opens in a new window NICE provide access to selected and authoritative evidence in health, social care and public health. Includes the BNF and BNFC and NICE Guidelines.
British National Formulary This link opens in a new window A medical prescribing and dispensing tool (adult). Supports best practice advice on prescribing and dispensing.
British National Formulary for Children This link opens in a new window A medical prescribing and dispensing tool (children). Supports best practice advice on prescribing and dispensing.

Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.

You can browse by subject Medicine or search to find your required resource.

Medline (PubMed) This link opens in a new window Research literature database covering all aspects of human medicine and related biomedical research. Guidance on searching Medline (PubMed) is available here.
Medline Ovid This link opens in a new window Research literature database covering all aspects of human medicine and related biomedical research.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window Biomedical and pharmacological research database. Coverage 1974- present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window A bibliographic index to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching. NOTE: not all results will provide the full-text content. Use the "check for this at Exeter" option to find out if the Library provides access to the full text.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window An Index to scholarly literature across the life sciences, medicine, social sciences and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window An index to nursing, midwifery and community healthcare literature, with full text access to many of the indexed journals.
British Nursing Database This link opens in a new window Database of nursing, midwifery and community healthcare literature.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Extensive bibliographic database covering psychology and related disciplines.

Mind the gap - a handbook of clinical signs in Black and Brown skin

e-book focusing on clinical signs and symptoms and how they present on Black and Brown skin.

Skin deep image resource

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Evidence, protocols, trials and Systematic reviews to inform healthcare decision making.

We now have full access to all of the content on Oxford Medicine online. You can access all of the Oxford Medical Handbooks online using your university login.

Oxford Medical Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Digital platform hosting Oxford University Press' medical handbooks.

Browse all of the recommended titles for undergraduate doctors here.

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
Evidence guidelines and medical opinion. For decision making by practitioners at the point of care.

Using the BMJ Best Practice Comorbidities tool

Users' Guides to the Medical Literature by Gordon Guyatt; Drummond Rennie; Deborah Cook; Maureen Meade
ISBN: 9780071590389
Publication Date: 2008-06-11

BMJ Learning This link opens in a new window
E-learning modules on clinical topics and professional skills. Supports continuing medical education.
Cochrane Interactive Learning This link opens in a new window
Self-directed online learning package on the complete systematic review process for both new and experienced review authors. Cochrane Interactive Learning is aimed primarily for authors of systematic reviews following Cochrane methodology. It is useful for both introductory-level learners and more experienced learners who want to refresh and update their knowledge.

You will need to register using the 'registration only' link on the A-Z list before you will be able to access this resource.
Personal account required. Instructions on setting this up for new users are available on the opening course registration page or via: https://libguides.exeter.ac.uk/systematicreviews. Once you have a personal account you can activate access to all modules.

ClinicalKey Student This link opens in a new window
Access e-books, videos and other content as well as a question bank of thousands of questions in basic science and clinical medicine. Create an account and undertake customised tests focusing on your weak areas of study. To log in, click "log in via institution" and then enter University of Exeter.

To access this resource there are a couple of additional steps. Watch the video below for a demonstration of how to log in and register to access ebooks and assessment activities.

Watch this video for a demonstration of how to search for literature on Medline (Ovid) using multi-field search

Using subject headings when searching Medline can help you find more relevant results and make your search more comprehensive. To learn how to carry out a searching using MeSH (medical subject headings) watch the below video.

Medline Ovid This link opens in a new window
Research literature database covering all aspects of human medicine and related biomedical research.

Medicine subject guide: Home