Welcome to the Middle East Studies LibGuide
Use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.
Search for print books, ebooks, journals, articles + more. Use Library Search LibGuide for guidance.
For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.
Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.
You can browse by subject (e.g. 'Arab & Islamic Studies', 'Middle Eastern Studies' or 'Politics and International Relations') or type (e.g.Journals, News, Archives etc.) or search to find your required resource.
EBSCO resources: This help site can support you with EBSCO journal databases, including:
- ATLA Religion Database
- Index Islamicus
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: This LibGuide can support you using the IBSS database
Web of Science: Use the Web of Science LibGuide for comprehensive support and training
A Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic by Hans Wehr.
You can search both the Arabic and the English, downloadable for offline use.
Arabic / Quarnic lexica [gawāmēs arabēyyah] and other dictionaries.
There are a number of valuable websites and resources that can access freely online, including Arab and Islamic art, images, manuscripts and newspapers. For more information and links to key sites, visit the Free Online Resources page.
Find out more on the News LibGuide
Primary sources are documents which were created during particular historical periods, as opposed to secondary sources, which are written at a later date about particular historical periods.
Examples of primary sources are:
Find out more on the Primary Sources LibGuide
Find out more in the Official Publications LibGuide.
It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.
Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc.
Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.
Use the Search Techniques LibGuides for lots of hints and tips on successful online searching
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of study skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.
Contact Us or Give Feedback