LibGuides: Drama Subject Guide: Online library support

Library Essentials @ Exeter

Your Librarian at Exeter

Email Me

Subjects: Archaeology, Art History and Visual Culture, Communications, Drama, Engineering, Film Studies, History, Modern Languages and Cultures

Online tutorials

Click on the images to access the tutorials.

Dissertation workbook

Library events @ Streatham Campus

Where to start your search

Library Search

Search across the print and online collections for books, chapters, articles, journals and lots more.

For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Key drama databases

Drama databases

The following databases are subject specific to drama. You have access to further resources via the Drama subject list area in the A-Z Databases list.

Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window Digital Theatre + covers classic, contemporary and international theatre. The collection contains theatre histories, context, language analysis, and practical techniques. Materials include filmed performance, essays, documentaries, interviews, lectures, and study guides.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window A collection of full text plays from ancient, modern and contemporary playwrights, from Aeschylus to the present day. Content is organised by plays, playwrights and practitioners, context and criticism, and theatre craft, and includes books, filmed live performances, audio recordings and study guides. The National Theatre Collection can be searched from here.
English Drama This link opens in a new window A collection of verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles, through to Shakespeare, and to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
Exeter Digital Archives This link opens in a new window Search across the Exeter Digital Archives collection. Film and video collection on contemporary performance practice.
Access via VPN if off-campus
Kanopy This link opens in a new window Online video streaming platform. Includes critically-acclaimed movies, inspiring documentaries, award-winning foreign films and more. Films are discoverable via Library Search.
National Theatre Collection 1 This link opens in a new window Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collection makes this rich body of work available to students in schools, universities and libraries around the world.
On the Boards TV This link opens in a new window OntheBoards.tv delivers full-length contemporary performance films
Routledge Performance Archive This link opens in a new window Streamed video and audio archive of theatre, dance and performance practitioners past and present paired with relevant critical commentary. The collection includes interviews, masterclasses, contemporary productions and experiments; documentaries and contextual essays from practitioners and scholars.
Critical Studies and Performance Practice This link opens in a new window Academic e-book collection from leading voices in theatre, performance and Shakespeare studies. Additionally, this collection also includes a suite of actor training videos.
ProQuest One Literature - Incorporating Literature Online This link opens in a new window Collection of 20th Century English Poetry, 20th Century Drama, 20th Century American Poetry literature, literary criticism, and reference works.

Academic databases

These databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc. These databases are multidisciplinary, covering many subjects, but will contain scholarly content relating to the field of drama and performance.

You can see a fuller list of research databases in the A-Z database listing under Drama

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This is a core database for drama. It provides details of international scholarly literature in the Humanities from around the world, including drama and theatre publications. Some content is full-text.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window This database features hundreds of titles covering art, archaeology, anthropology, classical studies, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre, modern languages and cultural studies.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window An index to scholarly literature in the Humanities from around the world, including drama and theatre publications. Some content is full-text.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexes to literature across the social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text archive of back issues of journals and e-books in all subject areas.
Literature Online - Now part of ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window Collection of 20th Century English Poetry, 20th Century Drama, 20th Century American Poetry literature, literary criticism, and reference works.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online This link opens in a new window A full text collection of major works of poetry, prose and drama, as well as historical literature. Notes and annotations sit alongside the primary texts.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary social sciences database of scholarly material with some performing arts content. Some journals and books are available as full text.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window An index to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Play scripts

These databases contain the full text of plays.

American Drama, 1714-1915 This link opens in a new window American dramatic works from 1714-1915.
Aurora Metro Books This link opens in a new window Collection of contemporary playtexts, with a focus on women’s drama, international drama, drama in translation, and drama by black and Asian writers.
Black Drama, 3rd ed This link opens in a new window Contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40% of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window Full text plays, filmed live performance, interviews, study guides, theatre craft and performance context and criticism. The Core Collection includes Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber and Arden collection of full text plays and associated commentaries. The National Theatre Collection, Screen Online and LA Works collections can be accessed from here.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window Full text digital versions of nearly every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, spanning from 1473 to 1700, plus works in English printed elsewhere. The collection includes playscripts, pamphlets, books, broadsheets, manuscripts and periodicals.
Eighteenth Century Drama This link opens in a new window An archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents, including playbills, theatre records and correspondence that provide social context.
English Drama This link opens in a new window Collection of verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window Authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays, from writer scripts to the director and producer’s screen interpretations.
To login, search by 'institution', 'University of Exeter'.
Great War Theatre This link opens in a new window Explore the history of theatre during the First World War. Discover long-forgotten plays and download playscripts using this freely available database.
Oberon Books Collection This link opens in a new window Collection of plays from Oberon, the specialist drama and performing arts publisher, including contemporary works, modern classics and international plays in translation.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online This link opens in a new window Full text major works of poetry, prose and drama. Classical Latin and Greek literature, plus literature from the 15th to the 19th centuries are included.
Playwrights Canada Press This link opens in a new window Collection of classic and contemporary plays by notable and award-winning Canadian and First Nations playwrights.
ProQuest One Literature - Incorporating Literature Online This link opens in a new window Collection of 20th Century English Poetry, 20th Century Drama, 20th Century American Poetry literature, literary criticism, and reference works.
Routledge Performance Archive This link opens in a new window Streamed video and audio archive of theatre, dance and performance practitioners past and present paired with relevant critical commentary. The collection includes interviews, masterclasses, contemporary productions and experiments; documentaries and contextual essays from practitioners and scholars.

Performance databases

These databases contain filmed performances, interviews, documentaries and films.

Performances of Shakespeare's plays can be found under the Shakespeare tab above.

BBC Drama, Film and Documentaies Film adaptations of classic and contemporary plays.

Classic Spring Oscar Wilde Collection This link opens in a new window Live performances of four classic plays by Oscar Wilde.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window Filmed productions, documentaries, interviews and criticism.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window Full text plays, filmed live performance, interviews, study guides, theatre craft and performance context and criticism. The Core Collection includes Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber and Arden collection of full text plays and associated commentaries. The National Theatre Collection, Screen Online and LA Works collections can be accessed from here.
Exeter Digital Archives This link opens in a new window Search across the Exeter Digital Archives collection. Film and video collection on contemporary performance practice.
Access via VPN if off-campus
Globe on Screen (Collection 1 and 2) This link opens in a new window A collection of Shakespeare’s Globe Stage productions recorded live at the Globe in high definition and surround sound.

National Theatre Collection Performances by the National Theatre.

On the Boards TV This link opens in a new window OntheBoards.tv delivers full-length contemporary performance films
Routledge Performance Archive This link opens in a new window Streamed video and audio archive of theatre, dance and performance practitioners past and present paired with relevant critical commentary. The collection includes interviews, masterclasses, contemporary productions and experiments; documentaries and contextual essays from practitioners and scholars.
Stage on Screen This link opens in a new window Four classic plays (Doctor Faustus, The Duchess of Malfi, The school of scandal and Volpone) filmed in front of a live audience and accompanied by cast and crew interviews, images, costume, and set designs.

Audio theatre

LA Theatre Works Collection of radio plays that include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries and are performed by leading actors from around the world.

Useful websites

Internet Broadway Database IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. IBDB provides a comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production. IBDB also offers historical information about theatres and various statistics and fun facts related to Broadway.
Internet Off-Broadway Database The Internet Off-Broadway Database, also known as the IOBDB, provides a catalogue of all shows ever produced Off-Broadway that fulfill the following criteria: - Played at a Manhattan theatre with a seating capacity of 100-499 or was eligible for the Lucille Lortel Awards* - Intended to run a closed-ended or open-ended schedule of performances of more than one week - Offered itself to critics and general audiences alike

Film and TV databases

These databases contain interviews, documentaries and films.

BFI Screenonline This link opens in a new window Video, images, interviews and commentary on British film and television
Please note the Screenonline platform was maintained until 2014, but is no longer active. There is no access to any of the video clips, only the editorial text content.

On Campus access only due to licence restrictions..
Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window Watch online recordings of TV and radio programmes from all Freeview channels.
ERA Video Streaming Platform This link opens in a new window Curated clips from BBC TV and Radio archive. Browse by subject or search for clips across the archive. UK Usage only
You will need to register for an ERA account using your @exeter.ac.uk email address. You will also need a free personal BBC account to access some materials. Follow the onscreen prompts to set up accounts.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window Online video streaming platform. Includes critically-acclaimed movies, inspiring documentaries, award-winning foreign films and more. Films are discoverable via Library Search.
Television & Radio Index for Learning and Teaching This link opens in a new window Online listings of UK television (terrestrial, cable and satellite) and radio. Including Asian-language, Irish, Scottish Gaelic and Welsh channels and programmes.

Shakespeare

These collections include Shakespeare's plays, prose and the performances of his work.

A dedicated Shakespeare LibGuide provides more details of the various Shakespeare collections available to you.

BBC Shakespeare Archive Resource This link opens in a new window Audiovisual resource. Programmes and photographs from the BBC's Shakespeare archive. It includes Shakespeare’s plays, poems and sonnets, documentaries, interviews and over a thousand stills of classic Shakespeare productions, as well as entertainment programmes referencing Shakespeare.
You will need to register for an ERA account using your @exeter.ac.uk email address. You will also need a free personal BBC account to access some materials. Follow the onscreen prompts to set up accounts.
Bloomsbury Shakespeare Archive This link opens in a new window Access to the Continuum and Arden Shakespeare collection of research monographs, student guides and critical companions. Use for scholarly analysis of Shakespeare and his world.
Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy This link opens in a new window Harriet Walter leads an all-female cast in these three productions of Julius Caesar, Henry IV and The Tempest, all set in a women's prison. This collection also features 40 short videos on the plays and stagecraft behind behind each production.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window Full text digital versions of nearly every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, spanning from 1473 to 1700, plus works in English printed elsewhere. The collection includes playscripts, pamphlets, books, broadsheets, manuscripts and periodicals.
English Drama This link opens in a new window A collection of verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles, through to Shakespeare, and to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
Globe on Screen (Collection 1 and 2) This link opens in a new window A collection of Shakespeare’s Globe Stage productions recorded live at the Globe in high definition and surround sound.
Maxine Peake as Hamlet This link opens in a new window Filmed production of Shakespeare’s most iconic work with gender-blind casting and Maxine Peake as Hamlet.
RSC Live Collection 2 (2018-2019) This link opens in a new window Collection of RSC Live Shakespeare productions performed in 2018 and 2019.
Shakespeare's Globe Archive: Theatres, Players & Performance This link opens in a new window This collection offers insights into the performance practice in the particular space of the reconstructed Globe Theatre. It documents over 200 performances through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programmes, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.
Shakespeare Collection This link opens in a new window Contains a selection of over 200 prompt books from C17-C20; diaries of Gordon Crosse documenting 500 UK performances from 1890 to 1953; the First Folio and Quartos; editions and adaptations of Shakespeare's works from the C17, C18 & C19; plus other contemporary works. Dates covered are 1517-1975.
Shakespeare in Performance: Prompt Books from the Folger Shakespeare Library This link opens in a new window Featuring rare prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
Shakespeare in the Present This link opens in a new window A series of video masterclasses by acclaimed teacher Patsy Rodenburg. Learn performance techniques and exercises in movement, speech, body and vocal warmup.
Shakespeares Heroes & Villains: Steven Berkoff This link opens in a new window Video masterclass on Shakespeare's most notorious villains and unlikely heroes by renowned actor, writer, and director Steven Berkoff.
Stratford Festival Shakespeare Collection This link opens in a new window Filmned performances by the Stratford Festival repertory theatre company (North America).
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window Annotated entries for scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare in a variety of media including books, journals, productions and audiovisual materials.

Historical drama

These collections contain primary source materials relating to plays and theatre produced in the past.

American Drama, 1714-1915 This link opens in a new window American dramatic works from 1714-1915.
Black Drama, 3rd ed This link opens in a new window Contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40% of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full text UK and Irish national, regional and local newspapers from the mid 18th to the mid 20th century. Cross searchable with other newspaper archives via Gale NewsVault. We have access to the full collection (parts 1-6). Digitised article and full page scans and OCR text. Date coverage: 1714-1950
View more info about the collections
British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture - Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window 19th Century arts ephemera including playbills, scripts and music scores providing details of the cultural history of Britain during this period.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window Full text digital versions of nearly every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, spanning from 1473 to 1700, plus works in English printed elsewhere. The collection includes pamphlets, books, broadsheets, manuscripts and periodicals.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window Full text digital versions of over 180,000 works published during the 18th Century. The collection includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more, reflecting the social, cultural and literary history of the time.
Eighteenth Century Drama This link opens in a new window An archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents, including playbills, theatre records and correspondence that provide social context.
English Drama This link opens in a new window Collection of verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window Archive of US and UK trade magazines from 1880-2015, covering film, music, broadcasting and theatre, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.
Great War Theatre This link opens in a new window Explore the history of theatre during the First World War. Discover long-forgotten plays and download playscripts using this freely available database.
John Johnson Collection This link opens in a new window Collection of ephemera, including posters, broadsides, prints and advertising material from 18th, 19th and early 20th century Britain.
Literature Online - Now part of ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window Collection of 20th Century English Poetry, 20th Century Drama, 20th Century American Poetry literature, literary criticism, and reference works.
London Stage: 1660-1800 This link opens in a new window The London Stage is a key reference work documenting theatrical performances in eighteenth-century London. This information has been compiled from the playbills, newspapers and theatrical diaries of the period.
Shakespeare Collection This link opens in a new window Contains a selection of over 200 prompt books from C17-C20; diaries of Gordon Crosse documenting 500 UK performances from 1890 to 1953; the First Folio and Quartos; editions and adaptations of Shakespeare's works from the C17, C18 & C19; plus other contemporary works. Dates covered are 1517-1975.
Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window Primary source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals:1800-1900 This link opens in a new window A bibliography of newspapers and periodicals published published across the UK, Europe and the English speaking world in the 19th century. A useful tool to discover local and regional newspapers , and where copies of these newspapers can be found. Includes some European languages newspaper titles. Not full text. Date coverage: 1800-1900

Theatre ephemera

Ephemera is a catch-all term for items that were created for a particular occasion or reason, and expected to have been discarded soon after. Examples of ephemera are movie posters, pamphlets and music hall programmes. These rescued disposable items provide an insight into the culture and interests and concerns of the times in which they were produced, and many have since become collectables.

British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture - Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window 19th Century arts ephemera including playbills, scripts and music scores providing details of the cultural history of Britain during this period.
Eighteenth Century Drama This link opens in a new window An archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents, including playbills, theatre records and correspondence that provide social context.
John Johnson Collection This link opens in a new window Collection of ephemera, including posters, broadsides, prints and advertising material from 18th, 19th and early 20th century Britain.
London Stage: 1660-1800 This link opens in a new window The London Stage is a key reference work documenting theatrical performances in eighteenth-century London. This information has been compiled from the playbills, newspapers and theatrical diaries of the period.
Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window Primary source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930.

Theses are academic sources of information and the result of substantial primary research into specialised topics. They provide very detailed data and analysis, and can provide information that is unavailable elsewhere. Their bibliographies can be a useful source of wider reading on a topic. They are extremely valuable sources of information.

Search for University of Exeter, UK and international theses here: Theses LibGuide.

Use the A-Z Database List to access the full list of databases the library subscribes to.

You can browse by subject e.g. Drama or by type (e.g.maps, news, images etc.) or search to find your required resources.

Explore the full A to Z Database list:

Explore research materials available elsewhere

Library Hub Discover - Search the catalogues of over 100 major UK and Irish national, academic and specialist libraries to find books, journals and other materials
WorldCAT - Search the collections of over 10,000 worldwide libraries
The European Library - Access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
The Library of Congress - Catalogue records of the print and digital resources held in the Library of Congress collections (USA)
LibWeb - Find online library catalogues worldwide
CORE - Search the world's largest collection of open access research papers

The Drama department uses the Harvard Referencing style.
Cite Them Right Online provides referencing guidance and examples to help you correctly reference your sources.

Cite Them Right Online: Harvard Referencing

I am looking for ...

Online Books

You have online access to hundreds of online books that cover drama. Use the Library Search to search by topic to discover relevant content. Take a look at the following e-books to give you an idea of how you can search and browse online books like these.

Performance Analysis by Colin Counsell (Editor); Laurie Wolf (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415224079
Publication Date: 2001-04-26
Theatre Histories: An introduction by Phillip B. Zarrilli; Bruce A. McConachie; Carol Fisher Sorgenfrei; Gary Jay Williams
ISBN: 0415227283
Publication Date: 2010

Print Books

The Forum Library print books are arranged in Dewey Decimal Classification order. This means that books on similar topics are grouped together. Find out more with our Classmarks guide. The majority of books on drama related subjects will be found at number 792 in the library. However, some will be found in the 800s. For example:

Drama Classmarks in the Forum Library
792	General drama subjects
792.028	Acting
792.09	Theatre history
792.9	Stage productions
809.2	Drama analysis
822.33	Shakespeare

Library Search will help you locate these materials

Most of our journal articles are available in digital format. Older print journals are kept in the Forum Library.

Our journal databases may offer full text access or abstracts only, or sometimes a mixture of both:

- Full text = view or download the entire journal article

- Abstract only = provides a summary of a journal article. Often links out to the full-text held elsewhere in our collections.

Top Tip: Use Library Search to find journal titles and full-text articles
To carry out more complex searching, search the individual databases for your subject

Key Drama Journals

The University has access to an extensive range of online primary source materials. These contain digitised copies of documents, letters, books, photographs and other primary sources.

The Primary Sources Libguide will help you identify the best databases for your research. As we have over 550 Primary Source collections, the collections have been categorised by Country, Time Period and Theme so that you can quickly find the most relevant collections for your research.

Drama and Theatre History

Explore drama, theatre history and cinema history archives held by the University of Exeter in Special Collections:

Northcott Theatre Archive
Bill Douglas Cinema Museum
Theatre Royal (Exeter)
Sarah Bernhardt
Gerald Du Maurier
English concert parties and pierrot shows
Dorothy Johnson and John Lawrence Toole

Exeter Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Online access to the University of Exeter's own performing arts archive. The collection contains many filmed performances.
Access via VPN if off-campus

Literature Online - Now part of ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
A database of of 20th Century English Poetry, 20th Century Drama, 20th Century American Poetry literature, literary criticism, and reference works.

You can refine your search just to drama when using Literature Online.

In the Primary Texts box, choose Search Drama.

Refine your search using the options provided.

For example, you can look up particular playwrights, genres and literary movements, and add them to your search.

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online provides full text access to a selection of drama and theatre e-books (as well as many thousands of drama related journal articles). Each handbook provides a brief overview on scholarly topics.

Some examples include:

Oxford handbook of American drama

Oxford handbook of Tudor drama

Oxford handbook of Greek drama in the Americas

Oxford handbook of Early Modern theatre

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc.

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

It is easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.

Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information.

Use the Search Techniques LibGuides for lots of hints and tips on successful online searching

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

Library's Referencing LibGuide: includes guidance on referencing styles and referencing software

Cite Them Right This link opens in a new window Online referencing support tool

Academic Skills: Skills for Referencing online support

Build your skills and get help from the friendly academic skills teams.

Study Skills Support @ Exeter

Study Zone offers drop-ins, workshops and online guides on a range of study skills topics, including academic writing, referencing, time management, exams and revision, and digital skills.

ASK @ Cornwall

Find out all about academic skills support at the Cornwall campus. Take advantage of the online support materials available through the Study Hub.

Linking the University of Exeter Library to Google Scholar

Google Scholar is an online, freely accessible search engine for locating scholarly literature from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. But not all full text content is free to access.

However, it is possible to link the University of Exeter online library to Google Scholar, making it quick to identify and access library full text content.

Just follow these instructions:

Click on Check for this @ Exeter or Access this @ Exeter options to view full text article:

Find out more here: Making the most of Google Scholar

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window Book, journal and reference content on research methods. Use this resource to build your skills and knowledge in conducting research projects.

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.

It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

Dissertation students

If you are a dissertation student, at some point in your research, you may need to access resources held outside of the university library collections.

The library offers a number of services to help you access these materials. Find out more by exploring the guides below.

Inter-library loans and journal scans from other libraries

Make a book purchase suggestion

Become a SCONUL member to visit other libraries

Library and Archives Access Bursary
(Financial help to visit other libraries and archives)

Request books from your Library Champion

Drama Subject Guide: Online library support