Welcome to the Animal Behaviour LibGuide
Use this guide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.
Find out all about academic skills support at the Cornwall campus. Take advantage of the online support materials available through the Study Hub.
The Library Search services will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.
Search for print and online books, journals, articles + more. Library Search LibGuide available for guidance.
Penryn Library Search
Search the print and streaming media collections that you have access to at Penryn campus.
There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your study and research. Key resources are highlighted in the adjacent tabs.
Explore the how to find resources guide as a starting point.
Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports and other types of material that match your search criteria. They help you to find information about previous publications in your research field.
You can see more resources in the A-Z database listing under Animal Behaviour.
Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you. You can browse by subject (e.g. Animal Behaviour) or type (e.g.maps, news, images etc.) or search to find your required resource.
You can use the following services to explore research materials available elsewhere
COPAC - exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of c.90 major UK and Irish libraries.
WorldCAT - search the collections of libraries in your community and tens of thousands more around the world.
SUNCAT - is the Serials Union Catalogue for the UK research community, a free tool to help researchers and librarians locate serials held in the UK.
The European Library - access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
The Library of Congress - catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections in the USA.
LibWeb - Access to a listing of online library catalogues worldwide
CORE - gives an incredibly fast search of the full-text of 80M open access research resources
You are likely to use a wide range of different types of information sources for your study and research. Use the online support highlighted here to guide your searching.
You have online access to hundreds of online books that relevant to biological sciences. Use the Library Search to search by topic to discover relevant content. For example Campbell's Biology : a global approach.
The vast majority of our journals are available online, allowing 24/7 access wherever you are.
Use Library Search to find Journal Titles and articles that relate to your research/study area, drawn from a wide range of full text sources.
For targeted searching, select a research database and explore the published literature in your field. Key databases are flagged above.
Find out more on the News LibGuide
We have extensive access to map resources through our Digimap collections. They provides online access to contemporary, historical, topographic, thematic maps and more. To explore our map collections take a look at the maps Libguide.
Statistics is the science of collecting, analysing and presenting numerical data.
Statistical data can be found on a huge variety of subjects, for example the economy, employment, the environment, government, health, international trade, manufacturing, and population.
They can be a vital source of information for your studies.
Find out more on the Statistics LibGuide.
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas. You can explore TED Talks related to the topic of the Animals, Biology, Bioethics or view the most popular talks from the TED homepage.
The Journal of Visualized Experiments provides access to videos demonstrating experiments from laboratories around the world.
Use this resource to learn about lab techniques and processes.
It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.
Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc.
Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.
Use the Search Techniques LibGuides for lots of hints and tips on successful online searching
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of study skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.
Contact Us or Give Feedback