LibGuides: Special Collections: Drama, Music and Theatre History: Rare Book collections

Printed books

Nine years of an actor's life by Dyer, Robert.
Classmark: Available at Special Collections, Old Library (Reserve 792 DYE)

Publication Date: 1833
The actor's art : a practical treatise on stage declamation, public speaking, and deportment, for the use of artists, students, and amateurs... by Garcia, Gustave.
Classmark: Available at Special Collections, Old Library (Reserve 792.028 GAR)

Publication Date: 1888

2nd ed.
Illustrated by A.Forestier

undefined

The Hypatia collection is a rich and diverse collection of books and journals by or about women, collected by Dr Melissa Hardie. Chiefly nineteenth to twentieth-century, the collection is strongest on biography, social life, occupations and history, as well as on literature (especially fiction) and the arts. The collection also contains a Performing Arts section (see classmark: Hypatia/Per)

The books and pamphlets are arranged within subjects: Biographies; Health; Education; Occupations; Science; Crime; Religion; Marriage and the Family; Politics; Archaeology; History; Domestic Science; Art; Humour; Natural World; Poetry; Performing Arts; Diaries; Nursing; Literature; Myths and Legends; Travel; Topography; The Cornish Woman; The American Woman; Women and War; Fiction, Journals.

To search the entire Hypatia Collection, enter *HYPATIA* in the search field on the Library Catalogue. You can also search *Hypatia* + *Keyword* or *Hypatia* + *Author* or *Hypatia* + *Book Title*. Then under *Refine your results* and under *Location* select *Special Collections Old Library*

There are 19th century editions of books which were adapted to melodramas in our Reserve Collection at 822.08

The Castle of Otranto : a Gothic story by Walpole, Horace,
Classmark: Available at Special Collections, Old Library (Reserve 828.6/WAL)

Publication Date: 1769

3rd ed.
The foundling of the forest : a play, in three acts by Dimond, William.
Classmark: Available at Special Collections, Old Library (Reserve 822.08 KNO)

Publication Date: 18--

The foundling of the forest : a play, in three acts, printed from the acting copy, with remarks, biographical and critical ... to which are added , a description of the costume, - cast of the characters entrances and exits, - relative positions of the performers on the stage, - and the whole of the stage business, as performed at the Theatre Royal, London
The Inchcape bell : a nautical burletta in two acts by Fitzball, Edward.
Classmark: Available at Special Collections, Old Library (Reserve 822.08 KNO)

Publication Date: 18--
"Still waters run deep" : an original comedy by Taylor, Tom,
Classmark: Available at Special Collections, Old Library (Reserve 822.08 YOU)

Publication Date: 18--

Rare books and reserve collections can be found by searching the University of Exeter Library catalogue https://www.exeter.ac.uk/departments/library/

Enter a keyword, title or author in the search bar
To restrict the results to a specific time period, enter a date range under *Refine your results* and *Creation Date*
To restrict the results to results to Special Collections materials, select *Special Collections, Old Library* under *Location*

For more advice on searching the Library Catalogue, visit our Searcing our Catalogues guide