S
arah Bernhardt (1844-1923) established her reputation as a tragedienne actress at the Comedie Francaise, the Theatre du Gymnase and Theatre de l'Odeon. She subsequently toured Europe and the USA in the 1880s where she also won international fame. She managed the Theatre de la Renaissance from 1893-1899, and subsequently founded the Theatre Sarah Bernhardt (originally Theatre des Nations) in Paris in 1899.
The papers relating to Sarah Bernhardt (EUL MS 170) comprise theatre pamphlets and other papers relating to Bernhardt's life and career. It contains papers dating to during and after her lifetime including: magazine articles, theatre programmes (signed), black and white photographs, Sarah Bernhardt exhibition catalogue (Ferrers Gallery, London, 1973), assorted newscuttings, articles, notes and extracts relating to the life of Bernhardt.
Click here to find out more about this archive on the online archives cataogue
Ballets Russes was a Russian émigré ballet company formed and directed by Serge Diaghilev (1827-1929). The company was established in 1909 as a summer theatre in Paris by the Russian Opera and Ballet, and became a permanent company in 1911. The company spent regular seasons in Paris from 1909 until its closure on Diaghilev's death in 1929.As a touring company, it created a sensation in Western Europe in the early 20th century, premiering much of today's established ballet repertoire.
This small collection of papers relating to Ballets Russes (EUL MS 158) contains two programmes of the Russian Ballet's seasons at the Theatre du Chatelet, Paris, 1912-1914. Included are many colour illustrations of costume designs, as well as photographs and illustrations of various dancers and text about various ballet productions. Also contained within the collection is a programme for 1911, to which other publicity materials such as cuttings, magazine articles, portions of programmes and postcards have been added. A colour brochure showing costume designs, and a few other stray and incomplete materials relating to Ballets Russes [taken from programmes] are also included.
Click here to find out more about this collection on the online archives catalogue
Dorothy Louise Hartnup (1909-1966) was actively involved in amateur dramatics and singing, and she had a keen interest in theatre history, particularly in the actor managers Edward Edwards and John Lawrence Toole (1830-1906). Her most productive period of research was from c 1953-1957.
This collection comprises a variety of materials relating to theatre history, including playbills, letters, newscttings, mounted engravings of actors, and notes.
Click here to find out more about this collection on the online archives catalogue
Gerald du Maurier (1873-1934) was an actor and theatrical manager. He also appeared in a small number of films.
The papers relating to Gerald du Maurier (EUL MS 207/4) comprise mainly items regarding to his acting career, including photograph albums, press cutting albums, obituary albums, and a scrapbook realting to the life and career of the actor and playwright David Garrick.
Click here to find out more about these items on the online archives catalogue
Florence and Bertha Salter were soprano and contralto singers who originally came from Devon.
This small collection consists mainly of programmes of nationwide recitals and other performances of the Salter sisters 1895-1917 (including a 1903 programme signed by the conductor Henry J. Wood, amongst others). It also includes publicity brochures with press opinions, and a stray programme of the Exeter Theatre Royal, undated.
Click here to find out more about this collection on the online archives catalogue
Margot Strickland (b 1927), writer, playwright and biographer, collaborated with Lympany on the publication of Lympany's autobiography (1991).
Moura Lympany was born in Cornwall and made her concert debut at the age of twelve. She was the first pianist to perform Khachaturian's piano concerto outside of Russia, and later performed it under his personal direction, and was also the first pianist to record the complete Rachmaninov Preludes during the lifetime of the composer. She recorded extensively and toured all over the world.
This collection (EUL MS 101) comprises research papers for a biography of the Cornish concert pianist Moura Lympany. It includes correspondence to Strickland, copy and original letters to Lympany, concert flyers and programmes, and copy photographs.
Click here to find out more about this collection on the online archives catalogue
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
