Concert parties are an alternative name for what is more commonly known as pierrot shows. Originating in the Italian commedia dell'arte tradition, and later French developments, the character of Pierrot in the familiar white baggy costume was created by Giuseppe Giratoni c 1665. Pierrot arrived in England in 1891, with his popularity established by the French mime play L'Enfant Prodigue which ran at the Prince of Wales' Theatre. The first English Pierrot troupe began c 1895, making its debut at the Henley Regatta. Closely allied to Minstrel shows, the pierrot shows pioneered a new form of British popular theatre, and consisted of songs, dances, comic sketches and occasional monologues. The shows were performed in the open, giving them the name of alfresco concert parties. By 1910, troupes were taking the shows on tour rather than remaining in one resort for the summer season. Famous touring shows included 'The Fol-de-Rols', 'Twinkle', and 'The Co-Optimists'. By the end of the 1920s, permanent wooden stages were often used with proper seating for the audience, or pier pavilions and other permanent theatre buildings were used if available. The pierrot shows flourished in the 1920s, 1930s and 1940s, only waning in popularity with the arrival of the summer show, which featured television stars, dancers and big bands. Probably the only remnants of this particular form of variety performance surviving today are the Pierrotters, and the Redcoat entertainers at Butlin Holiday Camps.
This small collection contains over 250 items relating to English concert parties and pier entertainments, including reviews, press cuttings, programmes, play bills, handouts, artists' cards, call sheets, costume design for Pelissier's Potted Pageant (not found), miscellaneous notes and photographs (many signed). Items relating to major touring companies are included (Catlin's Royal Pierrots, The Fol-de-Rols, Gaytime, Billie Manders' Quaintesques, Edgar Taylor's Lavender Follies, Clarkson Rose's Twinkle), as well as for other smaller companies.
Find out more about this collection on the online archives catalogue
Mike Weaver was for some years a lecturer in the School of English at the University of Exeter, with a specialism in American studies. He joined the University in 1967 as a lecturer in American literature, later becoming Reader in American Arts and Letters. He was heavily involved in the work of the American Arts Documentation Centre which was centred at the School of English c 1970-1997, and of which he was Director. He left the University c 1978, and is now (2004) Professorial Fellow Emeritus at Linacre College, University of Oxford.
This small collection contains black and white photographs and press information/news releases relating to American stage productions c 1971-c 1980, sent from the Center Theatre Group, Ahmanson Theatre, Los Angeles, USA, and from Mark Taper Forum, Los Angeles, USA. Also included are posters relating to American exhibitions and stage productions (approximately 50-60 items), 1966-1974, a street map of Passaic County, New Jersey, a general map of Passaic County, New Jersey, and one copy of 'Whitney Review', 1975-1976 (annual report of the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York).
Find out more about this collection on the online archives catalogue
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
