LibGuides: Modern Languages and Cultures Subject Guide: German

Key databases

Academic sources

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering art, archaeology, anthropology, classical studies, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre, modern languages and cultural studies.
Beck Online: Zivilrecht Premium Package This link opens in a new window
German-language full text database with documents concerning complex civil and civil procedural law cases.
You need to register for an online account for full text access
Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Bibliography of the German Language and Literary Sciences.
Useful for linguists specialising in German literary studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of back issues of journals and e-books in all subject areas.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subject index to scholarly publications in the fields of modern languages, literatures, linguistics, drama, and folklore literature. Also covers ethnomusicology.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text versions of scholarly journals and books from many leading University presses and Scholarly Societies, covering the humanities and social sciences. Full text access is available for material subscribed to by UoE. Table of contents access is freely available for all non subscribed material.

Primary sources

Europeana This link opens in a new window
Artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe's galleries, museums, archives and libraries. Useful for researching the cultural heritage of Europe.
German Folklore and Popular Culture: Das Kloster. Scheible. This link opens in a new window
A collection of magical and occult texts, chapbooks, folklore, popular superstition and fairy tales of the German Renaissance compiled by Stuttgart antiquarian Johann Scheible, between 1845 and 1849.
ProQuest One Literature - Incorporating Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of 20th Century English Poetry, 20th Century Drama, 20th Century American Poetry literature, literary criticism, and reference works.
Records of the Deutsches Ausland-Institut, Stuttgart: Records on Resettlement This link opens in a new window
German language Nazi records on resettlement seized from the Axis Powers during and after WWII. Covers the implementation and modification of National Socialist race doctrine and includes negotiations and agreements with the Russians, Romanians and Italians, plus other records covering many other aspects of resettlement in the period 1939-1944.
Records of the Office of the Reich Commissioner for the Strengthening of Germandom This link opens in a new window
German language collection from the Reich Commissioner for the Strengthening of Germandom (Reichskommissar fur die Festigung deutschen Volkstums, RKFDV): an office in Nazi Germany responsible for repatriation, and settlement of both German citizens and ethnic Germans who lived abroad, into Nazi Germany and German held territories. Covers 1939-1945.

Old books

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia of all matters related to language and linguistics.
Larousse Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Free online bilingual dictionaries, including English to French, German, Spanish and Italian.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Online dictionaries, reference books and encyclopedia covering general reference, language and quotations and subject topics across, Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable and regularly updated online access to Oxford bilingual dictionaries.

Zephys
A portal for free access to historical German newspapers (up to around 1945) from home and abroad digitized by the Berlin State Library.

Nexis This link opens in a new window Business and news reports from regional, national and international news titles. OCR text content only. Date coverage: Mainly 1990s-Current

A wide range of Modern Language newspapers can be accessed via Nexis UK. See Using Nexis to access German Language news tab.

Europeana Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Selected European newspapers from 20 countries. Explore the headlines, articles, advertisements, and opinion pieces from European newspapers. Content is in multiple European languages, and includes text, image, video and sound. Date coverage: 1618 - 1980s.

Deutsches Zeitungsportal
German historic newspapers from 1671 to 1994. Browse by newspaper title, place or date.
Digipress
This digital newspaper archive offers access to historical, predominantly German-language newspapers from the holdings of the Bavarian State Library. Almost 9 million digitized newspaper pages are currently available as scans and via full-text search.

Nexis This link opens in a new window Business and news reports from regional, national and international news titles. OCR text content only. Date coverage: Mainly 1990s-Current

To find Nexis news results in the German language

Click on News
In the By Language section, select German
Enter your keywords
Click on the Add option to add them to your search
Click on the Search icon

To find Nexis news results from a particular newspaper

In the Nexis homepage, start typing in the name of the newspaper e.g. der tagesspiegel
A list of potential publications will appear.
Click on the newspaper title you want

The newspaper title will appear as a filter
Your search will now be restricted to results published in this newspaper

You can now enter your search terms to find the newspaper articles you need
You can save this as a favourite filter by clicking on the star

Factiva This link opens in a new window Global news and business information service, includes full text access to major world newspapers and business titles.

If you are looking for German language news, choose the Search option and change the language from English to German.

You can also refine your search to just show results relating to Germany or specific regions in Germany by clicking on the Region option and choosing Germany or one or the German regions from the list. And then clicking on the blue triangle to add to your search.

German language learning websites

Chegg Prep Flashcards
A free website that allows you to create your own flashcards or choose from over 500 million existing flashcards to test your language skills and knowledge.
Review your flashcards on the app or from any device.
MemRise German courses
Watch and learn real conversational language from native speakers. Get a personalised learning experience that gives you just the right level of challenge to keep you motivated.
ThoughtCo. - Learning & Teaching German
Teachers and students can use these comprehensive German language guides to improve reading, writing, and comprehension skills for beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels.

Search the library collections

Library Search

Newspaper websites

Berliner Moregenpost
Berlin daily newspaper
Bild
Berlin daily newspaper
Der Spiegel
Weekly newspaper
Der Tagesspiegel
Daily national newspaper
- Print copies held in the Forum Library entrance (Exeter)
Frankfurter Allgemeine
Frankfurter daily newspaper
RP Online
Dusseldorf daily news
Sueddeutche
Munch daily newspaper
Vox Europ (German language)
European newspaper available in 10 languages
Welt
Berlin daily newspaper
Zeit
Hamburg weekly newspaper

Modern Languages and Cultures Subject Guide: German

German Language & Literature Resources