Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Modern Languages & Cultures Subject Guide: French

Help and guidance on finding resources in your subject area

Eiffel Tower - Paris - France  French Language and Literature resources

Key databases

Research Databases

These databases allow you to quickly search across the global literature and identify publications in your research field.

These collections contain journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc. 

Old books

 Newspapers (Current and archive online collections)

   Click on the Using Factiva tab to find out how to search Factiva for French language news.

   Click on the Using Factiva tab to find out how to find Le Monde news articles.

    Click on the Using Nexis tab to find out how to find French language newspapers.

If you are looking for online back issues of Le Monde you need to use the Factiva database.

Le Monde used to be available via the Nexis Database but this has now been withdrawn.

Various versions of Le Monde are available via Factiva.  When you are logged in to Factiva you can use the information icon next to each Le Monde  source to check on coverage. 

Screenshot from Factiva database

To search for news results in the French language:

  • Click on News
  • In the By Language section, select French
  • Enter your keywords
  • Click on the Add option to add them to your search
  • Click on the Search icon


To find news articles from a particular newspaper:

  • Click on News
  • In the By Type section, choose Newspapers from the options available
  • Enter your keywords
  • Click on Search
  • Use the refine options ion the left hand side to select the newspaper title you are interested in e.g. Les Echos, Liberation, La Croix
  • You can further refine your results by date, language etc. 

French language learning websites

Search the library collections

Library Search

Newspapers

Video & Audio

Open access e-books

Contact Us